48 Reviews

so yummy! It's on my monthly list to make again and again!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hen January 03, 2003

although i am clueless about buying sausages, went on the q & a section and everyone was SO helpful!! This recipe received a 5 star from my husband who is MAJORLY picky!!!! The group members in the q & a says that Karen's recipes are one of the best on the site!!! Thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karin Jensen January 23, 2003

Oh My Gosh, this was sooo good. Even though I live in Florida it does occasionally get cold here. Since we are having a freeze warning the next few nights, I thought this sounded like a good recipe in the chilly weather. The Hubby and Son loved it, I figured ti would be good with the reviews I read. Karen, Thank you again.....

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janice brady January 04, 2003

Well, here's another 5 Star Winner! My gosh, Girl, this is just the best Italian recipe. So easy to put together and plenty of yield. The only change was I used Provlone and Ricotta Strata. Whoa, what a feast! We really enjoyed and thank you bunches for posting. Laudee C.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee August 21, 2002

This was a big hit with the men folk! And so easy to prepare! The recipe didn't say what to do with the onions but I sauteed them in a little olive oil and added them to the sauce; worked just fine. Must look for more recipes by Karen!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorothy Stahl August 17, 2002

I wanted something filling and easy to have on hand over Christmas so tried this. I put it together Dec. 23 and initially thought it couldn't make all that much with only 1/2lb of rigatoni and 1c ricotta and not much sausage either. But for a couple meals for my husband and me would be fine. However as I mixed it all together I as amazed how much there was! I combined the spicy sauce one person recommended with a sweeter one my family likes and it was a perfect blend. I thought I'd need extra on the side so not an issue. This smelled so good I decided to serve it Christmas Eve to 4 adults and 2 kids and they all loved it! And I had leftovers and it was moist enough the extra sauce was not needed. In fact a second batch with the leftover sauce is in the oven as I write this. This is fabulous and I thank you many times over for sharing it with us! Simple, hearty, EASY and tastes impressive!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance January 03, 2010

What a great recipe, Karen=^..^= ! The only change I made was to use penne pasta, instead of he rigatoni! I used hot Italian sausage in it and it turned out great! I steamed the sausage in a bit of water to get rid of some of the fat, then browned it. We had a loaf of crusty Italian bread with it and still have lots left for another meal! Thanks for this great recipe which I'll be making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM February 24, 2004

We all liked this very much. I like that I can make in the morning & just but it in the oven. Will be making it again. Thanks Karen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada February 08, 2004

Great recipe Karen! The whole family loved it. Very easy and quick to put together. My husband said it's his new favorite way to have baked rigatoni. To speed things up a bit, after the sausage was browned on all sides, I sliced them in half for faster cooking. Made the rest just as stated, with no changes. Good stuff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao January 14, 2004

This is a good recipe to feed a casual crowd... i doubled it, fed 9, and had tons of leftovers. I think i would have liked it even more if i'd used a better tomato sauce (mine was bland generic bottled sauce), or had followed other reviewers' suggestions of adding spices and garlic to jazz it up. Easier than lasagne, tastes about as good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
incdeb December 24, 2003
Rigatoni and Sausage Bake