20 Reviews

Oh My Goodness! This was fantastic!!!!I have had other peoples lame attempts at this dish. I thought they were good till I had the real thing. Very easy to find ingredients, simple instructions, perfect. When I come to NYC I need you to make this and the stufaromanadama (you know what I mean) OK?

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff December 27, 2002

This is SO good Richard! Thank you for posting. I did use proscuitto instead of ham (love the stuff) and ricotta cheese...well, yum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rise` August 28, 2002

These came out so beautiful. I'm going to an Italian dinner party tonight and I was looking for something different to take. I took the suggestion of adding spinach sauted w/garlic and olive oil to one pie just to make it different. I also used spicy Capicolla instead of the ham. I also put sliced tomatoes on top and sprinkled some parm. cheese on top the last 20 min. of baking. I can't wait to try these tonight! Richard thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DBulanda September 05, 2010

Yum! This is very tasty. I used low-fat cheeses and turkey pepperoni to cut the fat, and scaled this back to one pie. Next time I will add some sliced tomatoes to the top of the pie before baking, as I feel this would be a great addition. Thanks Richard!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ April 13, 2009

WOW! Tell your Mom "well-done!" I used cubed ham and salami, low-fat cottage cheese (sub for the ricotta) and some artichokes and a Roma tomato that I coarsely chopped. Added a whisper of Italian seasoning, too. Beautiful tasty of Italy! Made for the Northern Mediterranean event in Cooking Photos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks October 05, 2008

I bought a huge container of ricotta which I use in baked zita but there was so much left and I didn't have any other ideas until I found this recipe and it sounded good. It was great!! My kind of flavors and textures--unfortunately my wird family didn't llike it--but my co-workers did, so they got the benefit of it. Thank you, Richard, for a new taste experience!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5Jean5 August 20, 2008

I would give the filling a 5 star rating- and the overall recipe a 3 star rating if I could. I think this would make a great filling for ravoili or some sort of appitizer. However, having it all at once in a pie was a bit much. I definately won't make it as a pie again- but I will try and find some other use for the yummy filling. I made 2- ate one and froze the other (uncooked). I still haven't gotten the other one our of the freezer to see how it turns out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingfor7 April 01, 2008

made it with ham and pineapple turned out pretty sweet. I also put a couple pineapple rings on the top. would definanitely do this recipe again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbangen January 25, 2008

Terrific for a brunch or dinner. Easy to make ahead and put in oven when it's time to make dinner. I cut the recipe in half as I only needed one pie, but I was considering making two and freezing one. Next time I will use proscuitto instead of salami. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E.A. July 15, 2007

This was absolutely delicious. I had to use more ham and pepperoni than called for, but I can't imagine that made a whole lot of difference. I was a bit worried about the consistency of the mixture as it was much more solid than I thought it would be, but after baking the texture is perfect. I'll be making this one often. UPDATE---made this again for Christmas brunch, omitting the crust as one of my guests was low-carbing it. Perfect! In fact, I may make it this way again for myself. All of my guests loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina December 26, 2006
Ricotta Pie