56 Reviews

Where did you get 2 dozen from 4 cups of flour ? I knew it would be MORE -- but 6 dozen ? I started at 15 minutes -- there was NO color -- added 2 minutes at a time to 20. I think I may have overbaked, but my oven was JUST calibrated by the service folks, and has been very accurate. They are very subtly flavored, and I added 1/2 tsp. dried orange peel to the icing. After 18 minutes, I had FAINT color on the bottoms of the cookies, and they are a tad dry. I did eliminate the sprinkles, as noted in another review. They will make a different addition to my holiday plates. I have made other Italian cookies with ricotta which had more texture and flavor. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 22, 2009

Oh my goodness! These are absolutely wonderful. I try to make my cookie dough a few weeks ahead of time and toss it into the freezer so there is less mess to clean up. This dough freezes extremely well. They were a huge hit at work. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chessiegal December 15, 2009

My mom made these cookies every Christmas when I was growing up and now I make them for my girls. These are always a hugh hit. Don't let the fact that there is ricotta cheese in them, they'll never know. A great soft cookie... Another version of this is to add lemon juice instead of vanilla, for a refreshing treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csilcox75 September 21, 2009

AMAZING. I loved this recipe. I made it without frosting and they were a huge hit for everyone who tried them. They definitely produce twice as much as the recipe suggests. Count on four dozen when following the recipe exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christina.ansay August 25, 2009

A PERFECT way to use up leftover Ricotta! I used lemon juice and conf sugar on some of them for a tang. And they freeze great too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crunch914 May 04, 2009

These cookies are very good, with or without the icing. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie224 April 05, 2009

Great recipe. I added extra ricotta cheese (the container was 24 oz), but they came out really good anyway. I also added coconut flakes - I thought the cookies tasted much better with coconut than without it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helen62788 March 25, 2009

I subsituted the almond for the vanilla and did not frost at all. They were awesome. I halfed the recipe because I didn't have enough flour on hand and read previous reviews on how many the recipe made and was sorry I couldn't make a full batch. I will definately make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taree March 15, 2009

These are great, I didn't put the icing on them. They are like an interesting sugar cookie. Very Soft.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 2912 December 18, 2008
Ricotta Cheese Cookies