54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

yummy! i halved the recipe and added 1/2 tsp or so of almond extract to the dough. i just dusted the tops of them with powdered sugar and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Oliver October 23, 2010

So fluffy and soft, the ultimate cookie! I halved the recipe after reading the other reviews but after eating a few, I wish I had made the whole batch :) The recipe was easy to follow and fun to make. I didn't make the icing because I had just made a whole batch of chocolate chip cookies, so this was a less-sweet alternative. I can't wait to make these cookies again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starresky July 19, 2010

FANTASTIC cookies! My 8 year old can't stop eating them. Definitely no need for frosting, they are delicious as they are. Next time I'll try to add some lemon zest to the dough, should be really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaSept June 29, 2010

These cookies are great. Looking for something different besides pasta to make with some left over ricotta cheese that I had in the fridge. Made a half recipe and the third dozen is in the oven with at least two more dozen in the bowl. Instead of vanilla I used equal amount of lemon extract and added about one teaspoon of lemon rind. Rolled mine into walnut sized balls. Baked for 12 minutes and after tasting I think there is no need to frost.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjd4 April 13, 2010

These cookies were good but nothing spectacular. I made them to use up some leftover ricotta. They were just kinda boring, but no specific complaints. I wouldn't make again except to once again use up some leftover ricotta. I did put a hint of almond extract in glaze to make them a bit more exciting, and then skipped sprinkles (all those nasty food dyes). I halved this recipe and still made a lot of cookies :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkmmwnomad March 18, 2010

Very good! They are similar to a sour cream cookie. I made the icing thicker and added flavorings (vanilla & almond). They were popular on my Christmas cookie tray.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmylou January 10, 2010

I made these for Christmas. At first they tasted wonderful, but as they set, they became very doughy tasting and got rather soggy. I don't know if it's because it was raining outside and the house felt damp or what. I baked them long enough and followed the directions, so I don't know what happened. I'm not new to baking so I don't know where I went wrong. I see that there is excellent reviews for this cookie, so maybe i will give it another try in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG December 26, 2009

Where did you get 2 dozen from 4 cups of flour ? I knew it would be MORE -- but 6 dozen ? I started at 15 minutes -- there was NO color -- added 2 minutes at a time to 20. I think I may have overbaked, but my oven was JUST calibrated by the service folks, and has been very accurate. They are very subtly flavored, and I added 1/2 tsp. dried orange peel to the icing. After 18 minutes, I had FAINT color on the bottoms of the cookies, and they are a tad dry. I did eliminate the sprinkles, as noted in another review. They will make a different addition to my holiday plates. I have made other Italian cookies with ricotta which had more texture and flavor. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 22, 2009
Ricotta Cheese Cookies