Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ricotta Cheese Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ricotta Cheese Cookies

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2011

      I never even made the frosting, I was making them for school snack and skipped it. I had to make them again the next day and send the recipe. A very light, muffin-top like cookie. Very tasty. Hard to stop eating. Definately not diet food, though.
      I have remade these and at one point doubled the recipe but only had one batch worth of ricotta. They still came out tasty, and much better for you.
      DO NOT stack these cookies, they are too soft and will stick to each other.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      The Texans in the house thought "biscuits" when they saw these cookies but everyone liked them. I made an icing with 1 tbs. milk and 2 tbs. lemon juice that flavored the cookies incredibly well. Like Forever Young, my leftovers got a bit soggy after a couple of days so I popped them in the oven for about 20 mi. at 300 and we enjoyed every last one of these great cookies! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Wonderful cookies. I made half a recipe but still got 18 cookies. I didn't have sprinkles so put Sugar in the Raw on top of the icing. DH loved them as much as I did. Served as dessert after having spinach and ricotta cannelloni.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      The dough was too sticky to use my cookie scoop so I opted for a butter-sprayed cake pan. The dough was too salty for my tastes and my bf said it needed more frosting. It was more cake-like but still seemed to be missing something. It has potential so, if I were to make this again I would add almond extract in the batter and slivered almonds on top of the frosting before it cools... or any other variation to give it some flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      These cookies are great. I found they did not spread in the oven, and I baked them for 12 minutes, they were browned on the bottom, but not on top. I did get 7 dozen using my cookie scoop.
      I experimented with the icing, I tried it as the recipe stated, and aslo with vanilla added, with almond extract added, with maple extract added, and I made a lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze as well. My husband likes the vanilla flavored glaze the best, and I liked the lemon. I will be making these for a Christmas Cookie Exchange coming up. Thanks for such an easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      I'm giving this five stars mostly because they taste exactly like my mama's sugar cookies, but are much more easy to make and I didn't have to mix the last couple of cups by hand. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      The flavor of these cookies is excellent; that they bring me back to my childhood is superb. The fact that I didn't really read through the recipe in its entirety and doubled it was a huge mistake. S'kat estimated 2 dozen cookies from this recipe. I followed the directions, made the cookies and have in front of me 140 after doubling it. My neighbors and friends will be loving my error... also know these cookies freeze well, so I'll be enjoying them for quite a while too- YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Amazing! Everyone loves these! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      yummy! i halved the recipe and added 1/2 tsp or so of almond extract to the dough. i just dusted the tops of them with powdered sugar and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      So fluffy and soft, the ultimate cookie! I halved the recipe after reading the other reviews but after eating a few, I wish I had made the whole batch :) The recipe was easy to follow and fun to make. I didn't make the icing because I had just made a whole batch of chocolate chip cookies, so this was a less-sweet alternative. I can't wait to make these cookies again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      FANTASTIC cookies! My 8 year old can't stop eating them. Definitely no need for frosting, they are delicious as they are. Next time I'll try to add some lemon zest to the dough, should be really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      These cookies are great. Looking for something different besides pasta to make with some left over ricotta cheese that I had in the fridge. Made a half recipe and the third dozen is in the oven with at least two more dozen in the bowl. Instead of vanilla I used equal amount of lemon extract and added about one teaspoon of lemon rind. Rolled mine into walnut sized balls. Baked for 12 minutes and after tasting I think there is no need to frost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      These cookies were good but nothing spectacular. I made them to use up some leftover ricotta. They were just kinda boring, but no specific complaints. I wouldn't make again except to once again use up some leftover ricotta. I did put a hint of almond extract in glaze to make them a bit more exciting, and then skipped sprinkles (all those nasty food dyes). I halved this recipe and still made a lot of cookies :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

    • on January 10, 2010

      Very good! They are similar to a sour cream cookie. I made the icing thicker and added flavorings (vanilla & almond). They were popular on my Christmas cookie tray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I made these for Christmas. At first they tasted wonderful, but as they set, they became very doughy tasting and got rather soggy. I don't know if it's because it was raining outside and the house felt damp or what. I baked them long enough and followed the directions, so I don't know what happened. I'm not new to baking so I don't know where I went wrong. I see that there is excellent reviews for this cookie, so maybe i will give it another try in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Where did you get 2 dozen from 4 cups of flour ? I knew it would be MORE -- but 6 dozen ? I started at 15 minutes -- there was NO color -- added 2 minutes at a time to 20. I think I may have overbaked, but my oven was JUST calibrated by the service folks, and has been very accurate. They are very subtly flavored, and I added 1/2 tsp. dried orange peel to the icing. After 18 minutes, I had FAINT color on the bottoms of the cookies, and they are a tad dry. I did eliminate the sprinkles, as noted in another review. They will make a different addition to my holiday plates. I have made other Italian cookies with ricotta which had more texture and flavor. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

    • on December 15, 2009

      Oh my goodness! These are absolutely wonderful. I try to make my cookie dough a few weeks ahead of time and toss it into the freezer so there is less mess to clean up. This dough freezes extremely well. They were a huge hit at work. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      My mom made these cookies every Christmas when I was growing up and now I make them for my girls. These are always a hugh hit. Don't let the fact that there is ricotta cheese in them, they'll never know. A great soft cookie... Another version of this is to add lemon juice instead of vanilla, for a refreshing treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ricotta Cheese Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    34%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 25.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 299.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 24.1 g
    96%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites