11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful little tea-cake like cookies. So rich, and the best vanilla flavor ever! Definitely a keeper that will be a wonderful addition to my Christmas cookie baskets, and so easy too! Thank you so much for posting this one. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txn_mommy April 12, 2010

This is very good but let me emphasize again- it is cake-like! If you love cake you will love it. It is like having little individual pieces of cake. You will need a havy duty mixer as it put a big strain on my regular one. The most important thing to know in choosing this "cookie" is one more time- "it is CAKE-LIKE".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie December 29, 2005

We really enjoyed these cookies. They came out puffy, moist and cake-like, and they are not overly sweet. I didn't add any chips or nuts, but I did add a drop of lemon extract. Yummy! Thanx for posting these cookies; I'll make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 12, 2005

I found these cake like cookies very good and not to sweet.You would never know that they have ricotta cheese in them. You can add all kinds of things to them. Any kind of chip or nuts.I even put some very well drined pinapple in one batch.I think you could try using lemon or orange or any extract in place of the vanilla and add some zest.I will be playing with this one alot. Thank Jules211

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny sheila March 16, 2005

Delicious little tea cookies, I substituted almond extract for the vanilla - the taste is reminiscent of the desserts I remember growing up in Hartford's Little Italy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa D. June 17, 2013

I substituted whole wheat flour and added butterscotch and semi sweet chocolate chips. They are yummy. They make way more than 48 cookies! I made sixty cookies and still ended up freezing 1/4 of the dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hslattery March 30, 2013

Great recipe! I was searching for a recipe to use ricotta we'd bought on sale before it went bad and was happy to find something besides the typical pasta dishes. I followed the recipe exactly but I think around Christmas time, I may venture to replace the vanilla extract with peppermint extract. We did the first batch as the teaspoon sized cookies, which would be great for parties and such, but then we went to 1/2 tablespoon/tablespoon size so that we could get them done quicker! (We only have one cookie mat) :)

I had originally thought that I'd sprinkle the tops with powdered sugar or let my daughters frost some, but there's no need. We all loved them as is, my girls said they taste like cake! The cook temp./time was spot on too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team September 05, 2011

This was an excellent recipe. Everyone loved them. I did substitute salt and baking soda for baking powder. My cookies came out light and fluffy! Very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pharsra October 24, 2010

wonderful moist no to sweet cookie!!!!i did however do a conversion for the diabetics in family ..they turned out just as fabulous as your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wiseblonde2 December 22, 2008

WOnderful cookies. I think that these are a great rich cookie (soft style) that are very versatile in the flavours, chips, chopped nuts or dried fruits that could be added. After reading the previous reviews, I made a half batch and ended up with plently of soft cakey cookies. Thses cookies were easy to make and the recipe has great instructions. Thanks for a great recipe * Reviewed for Aussie NZ forum recipe swap April 08*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 04, 2008
Ricotta Cheese Cookies