Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ricotta Balls (Italian Doughnuts) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ricotta Balls (Italian Doughnuts)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2004

      excellent and easy recipe. I modified to make a bit more low carb. Splenda instead of sugar, and I only had cottage cheese so I blended that til smooth. Also added some nutmeg. Looking for a lower carb flour substitue to try in this recipe. Love the way those little balls just turn themselves. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Addendum: Brand/quality make a HUGE difference!!! I first made a perfect batch w/ Precious brand ricotta. Later, I used Trader Joe's ricotta, and they were dry and awful! I returned to Precious, and again, I am back to deliciously moist ricotta balls!

      Original post: Perfect just the way they are. Ridiculously quick and easy, and very little, if any, oil splatter. Deliciously toasty on the outside and creamy cakey goodness on the inside, just like I remember them decades ago. Delish. Next batch will have lemon zest ;). Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      What I wanted to do was find a good recipe to allow me to use up my leftover Ricotta cheese, and to my delight, chanced upon this easy recipe. At our house, my kids like their desserts a little sweeter, so I used 4 tsps of sugar. My kids enjoyed the balls immensely. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      These are to die for! SO delicious...I would suggest adding vanilla and lemon extract to add some flavor. Made some with lemon glaze and cinnamon sugar. Both equally yummy! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      Good quick recipe. Great for when you have a sweet tooth, but are limited to what ingredients you might have in the pantry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      I love these. I make these at Christmas every year and they are gone in no time...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      OMG, this are so good! I am definately making these again. I'm always looking to use up leftover ricotta and this is perfect.It's a fun recipe to make with the kids too. I added vanilla and while that batch cooked, I added some lemon zest and a pinch of salt. They were all good. The coolest part was when they flipped over on their own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Super easy...fantastic, I added vanilla also and next time will add more sugar, we love sweets..will definitely make again thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      So easy and so tasty! Except mine never turned on their own, and also I found that I could not achieve a regular round shape simply by dropping them from a spoon, don't know how others manage it, mine were a little shapeless. But no less delicious. Oh, and I added vanilla sugar, and bit of coconut milk (because I had it). I can't believe how little time and effort it took...and the kids liked it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Tasty, used more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This was a really great quick and easy treat. It was great for me because I had exactly one cup lef tof ricotta cheese from a different recipe and needed something to do with it! My friend and I got together and made these and really enjoyed them. They were super easy to make! I deep fried them in a blood orange infused olive oil that gave it a great extra flavor of orange. I would suggest adding a little bit of flavoring: vanilla, orange, whatever to give it a little kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      made these today and they were just great,so quick and easy too. thanks so much for posting. i will be making these again. thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I remember my Grandmother making these, so I decided to try. Really brought back memories. My dough was on the sticky side so I had a bit of trouble keeping them in a ball shape. Maybe I will add just a bit more flour next time. Still a very tasty treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Really good. Super easy and quick to make. I was just wandering around the kitchen on a Sunday afternoon wanting something different to eat - spotted the ricotta and remembered having saved this recipe. Fifteen minutes later we had them with our coffee. **Just updating - if you like a little more flavour add 1/4 tsp cardamon to this recipe - yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      yum these were so fast and easy.ran some across the street to a friend lol bad idea cause now i have to make more lol ty for the post this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      These were really good and quite fun to make just cause those little balls turn by themselves. Didn't have powdered sugar, so i drizzled honey over them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ricotta Balls (Italian Doughnuts)

    Serving Size: 1 (20 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 43.2
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    34%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 42.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites