Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rick's Crock Pot Carne Guisada Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rick's Crock Pot Carne Guisada

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2013

      I have never been a huge fan of carne guisada but my husband loves it, so I wanted to find a recipe that was easy and tasty - this is both! I have made it easier by eliminating all of the chopping - I use 1 can of HOT Rotel and 1 can of regular Rotel, only 1 cup of beef broth/stock, and double the cumin, chili powder, and tomato paste. I usually use a chuck roast that I cut up into larger chunks than your typical pre-cut stew meat, but stew meat works well too. After it is fully cooked, I remove the meat, thicken the sauce using cornstarch, and then add the meat back in after it has been thickened (think gravy, not sauce). I serve w/ spanish rice, beans and tortillas. Recipe can easily be doubled for a crowd and freezes well. We LOVE it and so does everyone we've shared it with - it's now one of my 'go to' meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

    • on November 21, 2010

      I've prepared this for my family in advance as in the evening I was not at home.
      I've used a can (450 ml) of minced tomatoes instead of beef stock and tomato paste.
      For cooking I've used a pressure cooker (at very low pressure) for one hour.
      They liked it!j

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      ***AWESOME*** I got amazing results with this recipe, no problems and made as posted. We served ours with corn tortillas and fresh avacados,tomatoes and a squeeze of lime. ***AWESOME*** Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Nothing wrong with this recipe at all!!! Quite good actually. I followed the recipe as written with the exceptions of adding some peas and thickening it up with cornstarch. Nice bit in the freezer for "planed overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      This was alright, not really what I was expecting because I'm used to good ol san antonio C.G. Had to add a bit of flour to thicken it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This is a great base recipe, and we customized it to our own spice-loving taste. I used thinly sliced top round, which got a little tough. I will probably use cubes, as suggested, next time. I added green chilies, smoked chipotle powder, and cayenne pepper instead of the jalapeno. I used the whole can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. It was delicious with avocado on tortillas with sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I also found this to be great! I read a few other recipes for carne guisada and made some changes that I wish I hadn't. I added 1 cup beef stock instead of 2, and substituted a large can of diced tomatoes for the 3 tbl of tomato paste. It was too watery this way, although the flavor was fantastic. I served it with white rice. I also added chopped fresh cilantro at the end. I'll definately try this again but stick to the recipe and keep the cilantro addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      This was fantastic. I used two pounds of top sirloin cut into cubes - I'm too frugal to pay for pre-cut stew meat. Everything else exactly as written. I'm not sure I would change a thing. I was pondering what veggies might be added - this would be a new Mexican stew with a little tweaking also. Rick - this is a keeper - thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This was very good. Not spicy at all, although I cut back on the chili powder. The meat was so tender. DH liked it alot, first time we had ever had carne guisada, but won't be the last! Thanks Rick

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      this was good and spicey. I used a whole can of tomato paste (which made it thicker), and did half of everything else. IT turned out good. Served it on corn tortillas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Fabulous recipe! My family loved it. I left out the jalapeno and used beef broth, and it was awesome. I will be making this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Made again last night. Still delish! I found cornstarch worked better to thicken than corn flour (masa harina) for whatever reason.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Awesome! My DH has been begging for more!! We have added this in to be at least a once a month recipe, if not more than that. I have never had carne guisada I like as much as this. I always use stew meat that is already cubed up and we roll them up in flour tortillas with sliced avocado and cheese. My local grocer only just recently started carrying beef stock, so I used beef broth along with a bouillon cube or two instead and don't notice much if any difference. I have also been out of garlic or onion a time or two and have used powder instead with no noticeable difference. I HAVE gotten consistently delicious results with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      We liked it. I didn't have beef stock, but did have a can of french onion soup. So just diluted to 2 cups and used it for the stock and onions. I didn't have a jalapeno on hand, but that's ok- I'm a bit of a wus when it comes to spice. The sauce seemed a little thin, so I went ahead and used the whole can of tomato paste. We ate it in flour tortillas with shredded cheedar. The store always has "beef for stew" and usually for sale, so I like new recipes for using it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly and was a little surprised that it was really too bland for our tastes. We do live in Texas and are very accustomed to spicy foods so maybe it was just our taste buds. Other than that, it was fairly simple to prepare and even more simple to cook. I served it over Spanish rice and with corn tortillas as recommended and even added a little cheddar cheese. I did like it better when the flavors of the rice, cheese and tortillas were combined with the meat. I don't think it is a bad recipe, but just not one that will make it into our regular menu rotation. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      If I could rate this higher I would. The seasoning and heat was dead on perfect. Not to mention it was a breeze to make! This is a wonderful dish that we will enjoy again and again! Thanks so much for posting it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      We enjoyed this simple stew with tortilla chips, fruit salad and brownies--great for a busy day! I skipped the jalapeno but followed the directions as listed and thought it was spiced just right for us. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rick's Crock Pot Carne Guisada

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.9
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    34%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 93.7 mg
    31%
    Sodium 762.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 34.0 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes