Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich Viennese Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich Viennese Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2010

      Wonderful, warm, creamy potato soup that everyone enjoyed. I made this exactly as posted except for the mushrooms, didn't use those as I was out and was still wonderful. Next time I think I'll add some bacon it increase the flavor just that little bit extra. Thanks Toni for a great tasting, comforting soup on these cold winter days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Absolutely the best potato soup we have ever, ever eaten. I have made this 4 times already in the past week and we adore it. So easy, healthful, and beyond delicious. I also made this soup as a vegan version using light soy milk/mixed with soy creamer instead of the buttermilk....and also vegetable broth instead of chicken broth~either way, this is one outstanding soup! The mushrooms just bring a whole new dimension to this dish, and is the most comforting soup. We adore this Toni, and will be making this often~and we already have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This was so thick and rich and full of flavor. I had never cooked with leeks before and found that I loved the flavor it added. Was a little curious about the buttermilk, but it added a perfect little tang that we loved. I used oregano for the marjoram for personal preference and left out the cardamom (didn't want to push the new flavors of cardamom and buttermilk) but other than that made as directed. Makes a lot of soup and one I'll be making again. Thanks Ms T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I made this for a dinner party and picked it because it was a little more elegant than a "regular" potato soup. I have to say that I did not really taste the cardomom. I did make some changes, including oregano in place of marjoram, since I did not have any. I also added 1 jalapeno, as another person described. I altered the servings to make 12, so now we have a lot of soup leftover. I also added more buttermilk than called for, and I left out the mushrooms. Overall, this soup was a big hit. Our English guests exclaimed that it was "gorgeous," and I wanted another bowl, even though we had a large dinner to come. We'll be enjoying this soup in the future. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Comforting is right! Hubby has been unwell, but this soup certainly perked him up. The combination of flavours is divine. I left out the mushrooms -- none on hand -- and added a scant teaspoon of salt. Made and thoroughly enjoyed for Pick a Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      My DH being a huge soup fan gave this double thumbs up for lunch, really the only change I made was I added in some fresh garlic (I add that into just about everything!) I used regular buttermilk in place of the low-fat and also increased the mushrooms, I also added in 2 jalapeno peppers when sauteeing the leeks, the small remaining soup was happily gobbled up be my DS with homemade buns! thanks for sharing this Toni!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      ive tried to give this 5 stars 3 times and every time i look nothing its a 10 star dish . dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      This was a very good soup, but I was not sure my kids would eat it if I used buttermilk so I used skim milk and it was fine. I put the carrots in to boil with the potatoes and blened them up along with the potato. My son ate four bowls for lunch. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich Viennese Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (509 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.0
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    11%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 496.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes