20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Brilliant! This was so much fun! My scraps consisted of celery insides, onion skins, carrot & cucumber bits, potato & sweet potato skins, basil stems, dryed up green onion stalks, okra tops, and various pepper pieces. I also canned a batch of salsa earlier in the week so I had tomato skins and bits of jalapeno (no seeds). The smell is amazing and no doubt this will be a huge source of flavor over the next couple of weeks! Thanks so much for this! I will be adopting this as regular practice (I already have my new bag going as I just finished up more celery). I will probably gain some weight as my trips to the compost bin have been drastically reduced!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious May 13, 2010

This was such a fun recipe to try and I had great results. I just wish I had found this recipe sooner. I'm bummed to to think of all those little veggie stumps that went to waste. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 19, 2013

Super easy and delicious. Will need to be seasoned for the final usage but what a great way to use up scraps. And it hasn't cut down my compost at all - just compost the veggies after they've been stewed all day, it actually makes a perfect wet addition to the composter. Use a "stock sock" for a completely effortless process - purchase premade or form a tube of cheesecloth that is knotted at the bottom, collect your trimmings and when ready to boil, knot the top for perfectly clear stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop December 08, 2013

Genius! What a great use for veggie scraps. It took me about 3 weeks to fill my gallon ziplock. The stock turned out great. My veggie scraps pretty much consisted of onion, garlic, carrots, celery and various peppers. Can lettuce scraps be used? We go through a lot of spinach and romaine. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arctic Mama February 16, 2010

This is such an awesome recipe! I love the fact that you don't really have to buy anything extra for this-you just use things you were going to throw away! This is definitely something I will be doing a lot more of in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noob.in.the.kitchen February 06, 2010

Who says you don't get something for nothing?? I am giving this 5 stars for the idea which seems obvious once you know it. But I sure didn't think of it without this recipe. I didn't use the method though, I couldn't see how it would be different than starting off with more liquid and reducing just once. After I strained the vegetables out I reduced the stock further. I am going to keep that zip-lock bag on the go and use the vegetables when I make chicken and beef stock too! Thanks for the money (and time) saver!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja November 03, 2009

Excellent stock! Well worth it. I had been planning for three months to do this and I finally did. The flavor was so rich. (I wanted to use it right then. Talk about being excited.) Once again thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaQuetia July 17, 2009

Easy and delicious. I love it when I can make something out of garbage! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon June 08, 2009

Great frugal recipe, Thanks! BTW I used lots of broccoli and I wouldn't recommend it! LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook February 16, 2009
Rich Vegetable Stock