21 Reviews

My family and I agree: these are not very good. Not sweet, too dense and just kind of flavourless.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NRupert December 30, 2011

These are not your typical muffins, they are more of a corn bread texture. That is the texture I was looking for, so I was very happy. These muffins are very lemony but I have to agree with the other comments (that I did not read ahead of time) the baking powder taste is way too much. I love the texture and the lemon taste and if it was not followed by a strong baking powder taste these would have been great. I will not be making this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donica May 01, 2011

This was very bad. When I saw the tablespoon of baking powder, I wondered. These muffins tasted like baking powder. Perhaps the recipe is wrong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanusps January 26, 2010

Made these exactly as directed, except I doubled the recipe. They turned out...doughy? I guess that's the word. They were dry and heavy. I glazed them which helped a little, but not much. All in all I rate these an epic fail. I hope it was just me, but I kind of hope it wasn't as I am not normally an abyssmal baker. Oh well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat #2 December 22, 2009

I can't give these any stars. Sorry but too much salt, not enough sugar and possibly too much baking powder. Shouldn't it be 1 teaspoon? I made these exactly as posted against my better judgement and no one in my family could eat them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixang June 27, 2008

My muffins came out light, aerated, and lemony. The batter even looked like mousse. (NB. I added a bit of poppy seed for texture and aesthetics and only used a couple of teaspoons of baking powder.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelle Z. December 26, 2015

The only thing that I liked about these muffins was the crust that formed at the top. Otherwise, they were too tart, almost bitter and too dense. I had to throw the batch away. I tried to sweeten them by brushing some apricot jam on top but that didn't help. I ate one and I feel it in my stomach.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tricia.chin September 07, 2015

I substituted chia egg for the egg, used home-made baking powder using Arrowroot, used my Trader Joe's all-purpose gluten-free flour, and used Earth Balance soy-free butter instead of cow-butter, and they turned out great! I did have to add a little water to the final product before spooning it into the muffin tray because, like the other reviewers stated, the batter was extremely dry and doughey. But, we loved them!!! So, mine were gluten-free and vegan all around (because we have a-lot of difficult allergies), and they were delicious!! They are dry, people, kind of like a scone...try the chia egg instead of the real egg and maybe you will find you can cook it less. 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gigi W. June 17, 2015

These were HORRIBLE. And by horrible, I mean that I took a bite and had to spit it out it was so gross! First of all, they're heavy as bricks. Second, they taste like a mouthful of lemon baking powder. Way too bitter. Absolutely disgusting. I do a lot of baking and make lots of different lemon recipes. Avoid this one at all costs!! It's a complete waste of ingredients. I'd throw these out under the bird feeder, but I doubt even the squirrels will eat them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
markswelby July 29, 2013

This was more like a bread than a muffin, but still good. I made it in a loaf pan. It wasn't too sweet, so if you like things sweet, add more sugar. I thought it was fine. What would make this really good would be to add some cranberries or blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grafficjam July 23, 2011
Rich Lemon Muffins