Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich Lemon Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich Lemon Muffins

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2011

      My family and I agree: these are not very good. Not sweet, too dense and just kind of flavourless.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      These are not your typical muffins, they are more of a corn bread texture. That is the texture I was looking for, so I was very happy. These muffins are very lemony but I have to agree with the other comments (that I did not read ahead of time) the baking powder taste is way too much. I love the texture and the lemon taste and if it was not followed by a strong baking powder taste these would have been great. I will not be making this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This was very bad. When I saw the tablespoon of baking powder, I wondered. These muffins tasted like baking powder. Perhaps the recipe is wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Made these exactly as directed, except I doubled the recipe. They turned out...doughy? I guess that's the word. They were dry and heavy. I glazed them which helped a little, but not much. All in all I rate these an epic fail. I hope it was just me, but I kind of hope it wasn't as I am not normally an abyssmal baker. Oh well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I can't give these any stars. Sorry but too much salt, not enough sugar and possibly too much baking powder. Shouldn't it be 1 teaspoon? I made these exactly as posted against my better judgement and no one in my family could eat them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      These were HORRIBLE. And by horrible, I mean that I took a bite and had to spit it out it was so gross! First of all, they're heavy as bricks. Second, they taste like a mouthful of lemon baking powder. Way too bitter. Absolutely disgusting. I do a lot of baking and make lots of different lemon recipes. Avoid this one at all costs!! It's a complete waste of ingredients. I'd throw these out under the bird feeder, but I doubt even the squirrels will eat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      This was more like a bread than a muffin, but still good. I made it in a loaf pan. It wasn't too sweet, so if you like things sweet, add more sugar. I thought it was fine. What would make this really good would be to add some cranberries or blueberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      I was a little bit nervous to make these because of some of the comments, but I'm SO glad I did! They are delicious, they turned out really creamy and very lemony. I didn't make any changes to the recipe but I did bake them for 18 minutes instead of the full 20.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      The muffins turned out very nicely. A suggestion: if you are using a mixer with the paddle attachment, then before adding the eggs, mix on a low speed until the bowl is cool to the touch. This will avoid any curdling. You may also allow the eggs to get to room temp. before adding to warm butter and/or add a little butter at a time to cold eggs while whisking to temper them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I adapted this recipe to conform to a gluten free diet using less gluten free flour than the recipe calls for, about 1/2 cup less, and added cranberries to one batch and bluberries to another batch....AMAZING!!!! is the only word to describe these.....but you must LOVE lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Loved the bold lemon flavor of these little treats! I will be making them for many Springtime brunches!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Okay. I just got through making these "muffins" and I did not find them to be rich or lemony or muffin like. They came out with a pound cake type consistency, not light like a muffin. I think maybe using baking powder should be changed to baking soda which would lighten the dough. Also, the butter should rest before adding the eggs and lemon juice. The eggs parboiled when I added them, which made little flecks of "scrabbled" eggs in the muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      These were good, but just to tart for us. I think next time we may add a little more sugar to it to even them out, otherwise they were really delicious and we all liked them. Made for Fall PAC 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I love lemon anything. Lemon is my all-time favorite. So I tried these muffins. Seemed like too much lemon juice to me, though. When I tasted these they had a "bite" to them; which I wasn't very fond of. Because it is a personal issue, I didn't want to give a bad rating. These muffins were moist and tender, but no one in my family could get past the lemony bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      I made these yesterday and they were very lemony......also added about 2 tsp. poppyseeds. Yum !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      Delicious!!! The recipe was perfect, no changes necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      This is undoubtedly the best lemon muffins I have ever tasted, and it was very easy to make. The only thing that I did differently was to add 1/4 cup more lemon juice and a little more lemon zest, because I wanted strong lemon taste. I also only used organic ingredients. I'm going to make this recipe a lot. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      Really great! Very moist and I loved the grated lemon peel in it. A great touch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich Lemon Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 596.3
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    39%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 154.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1093.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 32.2 g
    129%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes