18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family and I agree: these are not very good. Not sweet, too dense and just kind of flavourless.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NRupert December 31, 2011

These are not your typical muffins, they are more of a corn bread texture. That is the texture I was looking for, so I was very happy. These muffins are very lemony but I have to agree with the other comments (that I did not read ahead of time) the baking powder taste is way too much. I love the texture and the lemon taste and if it was not followed by a strong baking powder taste these would have been great. I will not be making this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donica May 01, 2011

This was very bad. When I saw the tablespoon of baking powder, I wondered. These muffins tasted like baking powder. Perhaps the recipe is wrong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanusps January 26, 2010

Made these exactly as directed, except I doubled the recipe. They turned out...doughy? I guess that's the word. They were dry and heavy. I glazed them which helped a little, but not much. All in all I rate these an epic fail. I hope it was just me, but I kind of hope it wasn't as I am not normally an abyssmal baker. Oh well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat #2 December 22, 2009

I can't give these any stars. Sorry but too much salt, not enough sugar and possibly too much baking powder. Shouldn't it be 1 teaspoon? I made these exactly as posted against my better judgement and no one in my family could eat them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixang June 27, 2008

These were HORRIBLE. And by horrible, I mean that I took a bite and had to spit it out it was so gross! First of all, they're heavy as bricks. Second, they taste like a mouthful of lemon baking powder. Way too bitter. Absolutely disgusting. I do a lot of baking and make lots of different lemon recipes. Avoid this one at all costs!! It's a complete waste of ingredients. I'd throw these out under the bird feeder, but I doubt even the squirrels will eat them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
markswelby July 29, 2013

This was more like a bread than a muffin, but still good. I made it in a loaf pan. It wasn't too sweet, so if you like things sweet, add more sugar. I thought it was fine. What would make this really good would be to add some cranberries or blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grafficjam July 23, 2011

I was a little bit nervous to make these because of some of the comments, but I'm SO glad I did! They are delicious, they turned out really creamy and very lemony. I didn't make any changes to the recipe but I did bake them for 18 minutes instead of the full 20.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylesch November 06, 2010

The muffins turned out very nicely. A suggestion: if you are using a mixer with the paddle attachment, then before adding the eggs, mix on a low speed until the bowl is cool to the touch. This will avoid any curdling. You may also allow the eggs to get to room temp. before adding to warm butter and/or add a little butter at a time to cold eggs while whisking to temper them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkpastry August 13, 2009

I adapted this recipe to conform to a gluten free diet using less gluten free flour than the recipe calls for, about 1/2 cup less, and added cranberries to one batch and bluberries to another batch....AMAZING!!!! is the only word to describe these.....but you must LOVE lemon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
987875 May 21, 2009
Rich Lemon Muffins