33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had a tea party yesterday and made this very-easy cake, which my guests described as "sooo good!" It is really simple to make, if a little difficult to get out of the bundt pan, and it has a pleasantly tangy flavor. Outstanding!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa January 28, 2002

This is possibly the best cake I have ever tasted. Absolutely outstanding! The almond essence is the key to this wonderful flavour and when combined with the lemon the result is amazingly delicious! As you can tell I love this cake. The flavour, texture and smell are all divine. Not having the correct pans I substituted with a loaf pan. I was a bit concerned about this as the pan was very full but it puffed up beautifully and only spilled over a little right at the end. I have a larger loaf pan and might try that next time as the cooking times worked well for the loaf pan. The other thing I did was I had run out of powdered sugar so I used 1 cup of caster sugar and warmed it gently in a small pan with the lemon juice until the sugar had dissolved and then I strained it. Made a lovely syrup. Because the pan was so full it was difficult getting the syrup on but I managed (of course this was my own fault for using the wrong pan). I have frozen half of the cake for later. Will update to tell you how that goes.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! January 09, 2003

This cake is fantastic. It is very easy to make. I did not have almond extract so I used lemon extract. The cake is firm and moist like pound cake, surrounded by icing on the top, bottom and side. Although I kept reapplying the icing, I still had some left over so next time I will probably make a little less. My oven cooks on the high side so it only needed about 50 minutes. Also, the pan needs ample "grease and flour" to guarantee the cake slides out properly. I served it for company and got rave reviews. Plus, it gets better with age, if you can manage to keep it around long enough. Thanks Mirj for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa2222 December 19, 2003

This turned out great! I added a little lemon juice in my batter for extra flavor. Cooked it in two 9 inch rounds and filled with a stiff lemon pudding and frosted with rolled buttercream. It was moist, tasty and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yibbityibbit February 13, 2008

This is a superb cake! I made it in a fancy bundt pan (the one that looks a little like a cathedral), so it was pretty as well as delicious. Moist, not too sweet, very lemony. And, as the other reviewers say, easy! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drdi April 12, 2004

I can't say enough about this cake! The almond flavor was delicious and the lemon glaze just put it over the top. For the glaze I used the juice of two lemons and 1.5 cups of powdered sugar. I didn't have much trouble getting it out of the bundt ban. Might have baked it for just a couple of minutes longer. I happened to have buttermilk so used that instead of regular milk. Homemade cakes rule! Would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 12, 2014

Perfect in every way! A rich, moist, tender butter cake with just the right amount of lemon flavor. I did add a little more zest because my lemon tree is producing like crazy and I have lemons to burn. Very easy to make. Excellent with coffee or tea. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 15, 2012

Delicious cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1baytown September 13, 2012

Super yummy! I was skeptical because I tasted the batter and didn't like it - but now that the cake has baked - it's delicious!!! Thanks for a great and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennibear March 21, 2011

Not as lemony as I'd hoped, but I didn't do the glaze while it as in the pan (didn't read the directions carefully enough), so that may account for that. Everyone at lunch commented that it was a yummy, moist cake. It is very much like a pound cake. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely July 08, 2010
Rich Lemon Cake