Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich Lemon Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich Lemon Cake

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2002

      I had a tea party yesterday and made this very-easy cake, which my guests described as "sooo good!" It is really simple to make, if a little difficult to get out of the bundt pan, and it has a pleasantly tangy flavor. Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      This is possibly the best cake I have ever tasted. Absolutely outstanding! The almond essence is the key to this wonderful flavour and when combined with the lemon the result is amazingly delicious! As you can tell I love this cake. The flavour, texture and smell are all divine. Not having the correct pans I substituted with a loaf pan. I was a bit concerned about this as the pan was very full but it puffed up beautifully and only spilled over a little right at the end. I have a larger loaf pan and might try that next time as the cooking times worked well for the loaf pan. The other thing I did was I had run out of powdered sugar so I used 1 cup of caster sugar and warmed it gently in a small pan with the lemon juice until the sugar had dissolved and then I strained it. Made a lovely syrup. Because the pan was so full it was difficult getting the syrup on but I managed (of course this was my own fault for using the wrong pan). I have frozen half of the cake for later. Will update to tell you how that goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      This cake is fantastic. It is very easy to make. I did not have almond extract so I used lemon extract. The cake is firm and moist like pound cake, surrounded by icing on the top, bottom and side. Although I kept reapplying the icing, I still had some left over so next time I will probably make a little less. My oven cooks on the high side so it only needed about 50 minutes. Also, the pan needs ample "grease and flour" to guarantee the cake slides out properly. I served it for company and got rave reviews. Plus, it gets better with age, if you can manage to keep it around long enough. Thanks Mirj for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This turned out great! I added a little lemon juice in my batter for extra flavor. Cooked it in two 9 inch rounds and filled with a stiff lemon pudding and frosted with rolled buttercream. It was moist, tasty and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      This is a superb cake! I made it in a fancy bundt pan (the one that looks a little like a cathedral), so it was pretty as well as delicious. Moist, not too sweet, very lemony. And, as the other reviewers say, easy! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      I can't say enough about this cake! The almond flavor was delicious and the lemon glaze just put it over the top. For the glaze I used the juice of two lemons and 1.5 cups of powdered sugar. I didn't have much trouble getting it out of the bundt ban. Might have baked it for just a couple of minutes longer. I happened to have buttermilk so used that instead of regular milk. Homemade cakes rule! Would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      Perfect in every way! A rich, moist, tender butter cake with just the right amount of lemon flavor. I did add a little more zest because my lemon tree is producing like crazy and I have lemons to burn. Very easy to make. Excellent with coffee or tea. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      Delicious cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Super yummy! I was skeptical because I tasted the batter and didn't like it - but now that the cake has baked - it's delicious!!! Thanks for a great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Not as lemony as I'd hoped, but I didn't do the glaze while it as in the pan (didn't read the directions carefully enough), so that may account for that. Everyone at lunch commented that it was a yummy, moist cake. It is very much like a pound cake. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Not sure what happened but my cake did not rise very much. Tasted good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This cake is awesome. I lemon extract and the almond extract. Just a little extra lemon flavor. It was great and moist. I don't think it really needed the glaze. I did glaze half and left half without it. GREAT!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Awesome cake. This recipe is a keeper. I made a few adjustments, though. I added some vanilla extract and used almost 2 tablespoons of lemon zest ( I guess I like a stronger lemon flavor.) The texture was not like pound cake. It was lighter; more soft and crumbly. I was totally ok with that :) Next time I will try adding poppy seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This was excellent! Decadent and easy. Will definitely make again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Very LEMONY!!The cake texture is on the dense side. The glaze is what makes the cake. I brought it to a gathering and people seem to like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I made this for the Christmas holiday and everyone loved it. It lasted ehh, about 20 on the table before it was gone. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This is an outstanding recipe. Have made it over and over again, esp when have had a glut of lemons at my disposal. Recipe has been requested by many. Will be making this for many a year to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      this cake was absolutely delicious! the almond Extract gives it that 'something'. Loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      This was just okay as far as lemon cakes go. For some reason, mine turned out a little on the dry side. I used the lemon extract instead of almond extract, but the cake part was still too bland. The glaze, however, was just perfect. Made a pretty cake, but just wasn't a hit at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      I love lemon and I love this cake. It was moist and lemony goodness, with a perfect glaze on top that really made it, a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich Lemon Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.5
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    30%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 108.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 270.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.7 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 70.0 g
    280%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes