Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich Hot Cocoa for Two With Flavor Variations Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich Hot Cocoa for Two With Flavor Variations

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2010

      This was a wonderful treat on a very cool and windy mid-Oct day. The red and gold leaves are blowing around their now bare trees. Indoors a cup of hot cocoa with peanut butter was warming and delicious. I used Splenda and a 50/50 mix of skin milk and fat free coffee creamer for that richer taste. Dark Dutch cocoa and creamy Adams pb are a match made in heaven. Now I'm looking forward to trying the peppermint So simple and so very good :D.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I made it with 2 tablespoon of sugar (that's enough sweet for me). I used dark cacao powder. I added mini marshmallows to my son's hot cocoa. He liked it. For him I didn't made a variation. For mine (on photo), I made the mocha variation with instant espresso powder. It was very yummy. I can't wait to try with peanut butter. Thanks Swissms :) Made for Market tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I made the peppermint variation and topped it with whipped cream and more crushed peppermint candy, so good! This is a definite keeper! Want to give the mocha, mexican, and orange variations a try too. Made and reviewed for Comfort Cafe Event - January 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This made a wonderful breakfast combined with toast. One of my favorite childhood breakfasts. We made this for 4. It was enjoyed by all. Made for the Comfort Cafe 01/10

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This is so good I wished I had saved this to make for after my DS came home for Christmas break. I'll have to repeat it then! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This was really great. The first time I made this, I did it for my parent's anniversary on Tuesday, and used the mocha variation. The second time I made it was this last today, and I used the banana variation. I have to say it was very well recieved. I did a little taste test of the first variation and it was amazing, and I have to say the banana variation was amazing as well. I can't wait to try the other variations!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I made this as an after school treat for my daughter and she absolutely loved it. We tried Variation #3 (mocha) which has just a hint of coffee and it was perfect. I topped it with whipped cream and chocolate curls - um um! We can't wait to try some of the other options. Thx so much for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Nice. We had this without vanilla as I had none on hand but I added the cinnamon and banana. DD1 (4 years old) just had hers with extra organic cane sugar. I used organic cocoa powder and half & half cream (10%) & water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      The plain recipe is delicious and has a beautifully consistent texture! We reduced sugar to 2T. I made this in the microwave following the same procedures (except simply heat the water and don't bring it to boiling). I must say, mixing the first several ingredients without the milk definitely helps the cocoa powder mix correctly without clumping. Sometimes to save on calories I substitute 1/2c water for 1/2c milk (but of course it's best as indicated). The variations sound interesting, and I definitely should try them sometime. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      I've enjoyed this a few times now.Thanks for adding all the variations. I just tried the banana variation and it made it creamy and rich (very filling).Thanks Swissms. for another great recipe.
      Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      Delicious!! We tried out the plain, mocha, Mexican and peppermint extract and all were delightful. Made all with Hershey's Dark unsweetened cocoa powder and Splenda. Can't wait to try out the other variations. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Easy, quick and delicious hot cocoa recipe. And perfect just for the two of us as we decorate the Christmas tree this afternoon. DH gave it a "thumbs up". Tried the mocha variation. Looking forward to the other variations, too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich Hot Cocoa for Two With Flavor Variations

    Serving Size: 1 (375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.2
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    48%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 270.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 29.2 g
    116%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    peppermint candies

    Grand Marnier

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes