33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this in an 8X8 inch glass oven dish and it barely fit. It turned out more like chocolate cake than chocolate brownies. I am not complaining because it was excellent. Very moist and decadent. It reminded me of those premixed boxed cakes by DuncanHines or something. YUM! I highly recommend this recipe to anyone, vegan or not. Thanks for posting it.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pneumatic_sally June 02, 2002

I generally hesitate to disagree when I see this many great reviews, but in this case I followed the recipe exactly and even used a good quality chocolate and coffee. This is a solid recipe for something, but I have to disagree with Vancouver Magazine and say it's not brownies! Unlike many reviewers, I don't think this makes 'cakey brownies', I just think it makes cake, and not even a particularly moist cake. I don't think the words "rich", "fudgy", or "brownie" apply. Works well for cake or cupcakes, though!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meliska December 22, 2010

I made these in Ramekins, and like many other reviews, I would agree it's more cakey than brownie. I tried to undercook it a little as you do good brownies, but it was hard not to "over" cook. It turned out delicious, fluffy and moist. I subbed out some of the white flour for whole wheat, and some of the brown sugar for raw sugar, I used a mix of almond milk and cashew milk because those were things I had available. I will make again, but I may make them cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckagator June 07, 2012

I love this recipe. I had made those about 3 years ago and my family loved them. I wanted to try something different because I thought regular brownies were too rich. These had both the chocolate taste and the richness that I loved. I love these so much that I make them for any sort of bake sale or event that keeps coming my way. My fiance loves them as well and said they are a bit healthier and naughty at the same time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tay Goossens August 10, 2011

I made these for my son who has milk and egg allergies. I have to agree with Meliska and other reviewers who point out that this recipe does not make brownies but chocolate cake and I followed the recipe to the letter. However, it is a DELICIOUS and moist vegan chocolate cake recipe - better than other vegan chocolate cake recipes that I've tried... so I will be keeping it on file for this purpose! Now I have the perfect recipe for his birthday cake ;-).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ismene January 30, 2011

While this was baking - after the 1st 25 minutes, and me checking it to see that it was still 90% liquid - I was ready to give this 1 star. The baking time is WAY off. After 60 minutes it was finally done! The edges were over done-ish ( but I like them that way) and the center was still very gooey (but good). The end result is 5 star - but the bake time needs to be adjusted. Next time, I'll be using a 9x13 in the hopes that the thinner brownie will cook quicker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker September 17, 2010

Fabulous!!! I doubled it, used applesauce instead of oil to lighten it up more, and then even cut the sugar in half because it seemed like a lot....and they were delicious!! Moist, richy, gooey, and yes more cake-like but that is how I like my brownies anyway!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah7lee July 17, 2010

These turned out really nicely. They're the first vegan brownies I've made that haven't sunk to fudgy goop as soon as the come out of the oven. I didn't use walnuts, coffee, or the glaze. They are deliciously dark chocolatey tasting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB2011 May 30, 2010

Really good recipe. I added a Mexican spin to mine with 1T (yes, tablespoon) cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne (yes, cayenne pepper) and they were fab. Baked up quickly and evenly with a nice, moist cake brownie crumb. Served with a scoop of cinnamon ic cream (regular old vanilla doctored with cinnamon and cayenne) and they got raves! Thanks for a good one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICater March 02, 2010

I made them for a Mexican potluck, I added a bit of cinnamon and chilli. All the omnivores loved them. They know I always bring vegan puds. At the moment I am makeing the mix into gluten free cupcakes with 1 cup gluten free flour and 1/2 cup ground almonds. Nothing in them but a walnut on top. Though it is cake like, it is a very versatile recipe and can be used for a lot of things.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pawsisme February 17, 2010
Rich, Fudgy Vegan Brownies