Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich, Fudgy Cocoa Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich, Fudgy Cocoa Brownies

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2011

      I have been baking brownies since I was a kid and I have to say this is one of my favorite recipes although I did alter it slightly. I don't like to use shortening (Crisco) so instead I use 1 cup of butter. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Very rich and chocolaty! Tasted great, although strong cocoa flavor was recognizable. Good to serve small pieces, because those are rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      A day doesn't go by that I don't check out the Cooking Photos Forum. I rarely hit on member's personal websites but did check yours out and when I saw the recipe section I couldn't resist perusing it. This recipe for Cocoa Brownies was there. As I am always looking for simple sweets to make for hubby's lunch thought I would try these. They were an absolute hit. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Delicious flavor and SO fudgy! I don't think this needs frosting at all! I halved the recipe and used an 8x8-inch pan and baked it about 23 minutes. I love brownies with cocoa rather than chips. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This was really good. I had the same grainy problem, but it all worked out after adding the eggs :) I purposely undercooked these lots, and served them as..... WARM CHOCOLATE CAKES! wow. Topped with homemade vanilla ice cream.. I'm in chocolate heaven ;) PS: I used 200g white sugar and 150g brown, and all butter for that extra richness. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Marg - shame on you for posting something so good :) I NEVER vary from a recipe before I've tried it, but I did this time only with this - I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white b/c I love brown sugar in brownies!!! I also followed the "ER" variation, and wow. I didn't serve with icing, but rather combined 1/2 tbsp of cocoa powder with 2 tbsp powdered sugar and sifted over the top. Definitely fold in the flour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      Very good! My daughter and husband loved it. Will use this recipe again for sure. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      I made these in the extra rich variation. I mean if I'm going to cheat on my diet why not really cheat right? I was concerned that the batter was too grainy (no matter how hard I mixed it looked grainy from the sugar) but I refrained from getting out the mixer as per the instructions to mix by hand. I basically folded the flour in because it is so thick I couldn't mix it and I took care to just get it incorporated despite the grainy feel. I'm glad I did. OH MY GOSH! These things should be illegal. Not for the faint of heart though. Definitely not grainy. Worth the extra effort too. The only suggestion I have is to cut them in more than 15 pieces as the recipe suggests. Otherwise you'll be in a chocolate coma from eating one of these things! YUM!! I cheated with store bought butter cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      I used to think I could only make brownies from a box mix. This recipe changed my mind. They just have a true chocolate cocoa flavor that can't be found in the boxed mixes. Try it and you'll be pleasantly surprised. Your family will thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich, Fudgy Cocoa Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.2
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    46%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 150.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    107%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites