Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2002

      Scrolling through for crock-pot recipe today and discovered this one. YUP! have tried it and loved it! Came as close to French Onion Soup made at one of my favorite restaurants. It makes a big batch, smell wonderful cooking, and reheats well! Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I used boullion powder and it was delish! Thanks for Sharing : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I made this for the blizzard over the weekend, I did have to subsitute A! for the worcestershire sauce since I couldn't leave my house to go anywhere, so that could be the problem but it just seemed to be missing something. My husband loved it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      While making the soup I did not believe that it would taste like restaurant French onion soup. Given time to cook it surpassed my hopes! Loved it!! Changes- used boullion cubes(Mccormick beef stock-7 of them) made it a bit salty for some but I liked it Did not do the bread and cheese part and it was perfectly fine and rich without that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Everyone requests this recipe all of the time. I copied it for someone and lost my copy. I'm glad I found it again. Thanks, Michele

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I have been really wanting to make French onion soup for a while now, but have been hesitant because I was afraid it would not turn out. This was delicious! I made no changes, except that I halved it. Dh really didn't want to try it because he didn't think he liked this kind of soup- he ate two bowls! I cooked the onions last night, and put them in the crockpot container last night. Then brought it out this morning. Super easy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

    • on October 09, 2006

      I made this for tonight's soup course, since French Onion is my all-time favorite. I didn't use a slow-cooker, just simmered it on the stove for a couple of hours, and it was fantastic! As a low-carb'er, I skipped the bread but didn't miss it: this soup is just so yummy on its own! A definite keeper. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      I made this to serve today. It smells so good cooking. I took this to work, so I reheated it in my Nesco and I served a large round crouton with a slice of provalone cheese on top. The flavor was wonderful. Thank you for sharing this recipe. This was very easy for me to put together. I used my electric slicer to slice the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      I made Crock Pot Caramelized Onions Crockpot Caramelized Onions and had half of it left over. I decided to make French onion soup with the rest. Your recipe was easy to adapt using already cooked onions. I just used my onions in place of the onions and butter called for here. I placed my onions in the crockpot with the bay leaf, Worcestershire, and beef broth. Since the onions were already cooked, I only cooked on low for @ 4 hours. I used the French bread, but substituted Swiss cheese (our favorite) and placed individual ovenproof bowls under the broiler until cheese melted. It tasted so good, and it was really so easy using the crockpot. Next time I may add a splash of red wine. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      I have eaten and also cooked a lot of French Onion Soup (it happens to be my favorite) and I must say that this recipe is, hands down, the very very finest I have ever run across. Good does not describe it; delicious does not describe it. This recipe is sublime and I'm not sure even that describes it. I couldn't even wait for it to finish cooking in the crocker; just kept running in to taste because the aroma was so sublime. I am going to have to go to the grocers tomorrow for more onions, beef broth etc. because (I can't believe) I ate the whole thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      Excellent soup! We were hankering for french onion soup and this was wonderful; even my boys, aged 3 & 4, loved it. Instead of the crock I simmered on stove top for about 2 hours. Also added 1 tsp. of sugar as I didn't use all sweet onions. We melted swiss and jarlsberg cheese on top and used crusty french bread. Can't wait to make it again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      This soup was very easy to make and tasted great. I would cut down the amount of worcestershire to 1 tsp next time. I used costco's rosemary/potato bread toasted with melted mozzarella. Thanks for this recipe,I'll definatley make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      This is so delicious. I go to Marie Callenders for one reason only, the French Picnic, a wonderful bowl of french onion soup and a ceasar salad, well this soup to me is a duplicate of that soup that I love so much. I followed the recipe exactly except for one thing, I don't have a crock pot, so I let it simmer slowly on the stove for most of the day, oh the smell! it was just really good and could not be easier. I used large Maui onions, and this recipe makes alot! so I have it to look foreward to again today. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      Delicious and easy to make. I did not add the Worcestershire because ... just because. I served it for a casual dinner party and received rave reviews and questions about how to make it. Using a crock pot is a great idea for entertaining also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      I found the butter to be too much, I recommend cutting it back to 1/4 cup. Cut back on the beef broth and add a little white wine instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      Delicious! I didn't have the time to let it simmer in the crockpot but it was just as good cooked on the stove! I used half olive oil instead of all the butter and also added some thyme. Great recipe Wjking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      This is a very quick and easy soup to make. My DH walked in after work and said the house smelled terrific. The soup was wonderful. This is surely a keeper for us. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2001

      VERY VERY Tastee!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.0
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    29%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1395.9 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes