18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been making these rolls for years and I am finally getting around to rating this! These Rolls are easy to make and taste great. They are also the only rolls that my family will let me make. I have tried others but they dont care for them. The only change I made is that I use margarine instead of shortening and I also brush the rolls with butter when they come out of the oven.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassandraD August 14, 2008

The first time I made these I made them with Whole Wheat flour and they didn't really turn out well so I wouldn't recommend that. The second time I did it I followed the recipe exactly and they were perfect!! The family has requested them again for Christmas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dew437 November 23, 2007

I have to say this is a FANTASTIC recipe, these buns taste just like the ones I grew up eating, it was surprising to me that i could create the same flavour in a bread machine. I have made the recipe several times with many variations-clover leaf rolls, cinnamon rolls and large dinner buns.They are light ,fluffy and sweet. Thank you for this recipe it has become a favorite of my family!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowangel January 31, 2007

Oh thank you so much, this tastes just like my moms and I have been looking all over the net for it for YEARS! I used all purpose flour as I dont have any bread flour and it came out great. I made these only as cinnamon rolls tho. When done, you can make a glaze for the rolls out of powdered sugar and milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheNovakFamily November 06, 2006

This is a good, versatile dough recipe. I actually got 24, rather large rolls from one batch of dough so I think if I'd made 12 from the batch, they'd be huge rolls and good for hamburgers. So easy to do in the bread machine and then form the rolls the way you want. Thanks Branwyn, good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude April 11, 2004

Very good rolls, the first rolls I have made that look and taste like... good dinner rolls! Loved using the ABM for the mixing, kneading and first rise. I baked 6 and froze 6 on a tray. After the 6 were frozen, I transferred them to a bag. To bake the frozen ones, I will place as many as I want to bake on a sheet and thaw/rise for 4 hours in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL January 01, 2014

Loved these rolls! They were so easy to make since I used my breadmaker but they did take a bit longer than expected but they were so worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Flo in SeMo April 30, 2012

So very light and flaky. I can now stop searching. I've found the PERFECT recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 March 25, 2012

Yumm-O!!!! Today I tried another roll recipe that completely flopped, so I found this one and it is SUPERB! These rolls are soft, delicious, & look beautiful! I am excited to take them to the family get together tomorrow where I'm certain I won't come with any!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kendiger April 23, 2011

Followed recipe except for omitting salt (Mom is on a low sodium diet). These rolls were wonderful! Great texture and flavor. Made 12 large dinner rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 April 10, 2011
Rich Bread Machine Dinner Rolls