Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich Barley Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich Barley Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2013

      This soup was absolutely delicious! I've made it twice now - definitely a keeper! It tastes even better the second day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      This is a marvelous soup - "seat-of-the-pants" friendly, as others have noted. I use vegetable broth or beef broth and I also add Worcestershire sauce. Try to resist the temptation to eat all the soup while taste-testing, thereby leaving none for dinner!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      What a wonderful, comforting, soup, I made it to the recipe with no changes. You are right when you said about the soy sauce, I tasted before and after and it definitely makes a big difference, so don't leave it out. It does thicken up a lot the next day but that's fine, it's a meal in it's self very very nice. Thank you for posting. Made for Let's party December 2010 and my dinner guests loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Delicious and filling. I think I could put in twice as much broth and it would still be flavorful. Served this with a salad and Cheesy Chicken Legs #154452.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Fabulous, rich, tasting soup. I did add cubed leftover beef roast into it and it was superb. I agree that it tastes even better the next day. Will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I scaled this back for 5 serves (for 3 persons as a main with crusty bread) and planning on serving it in 2 serves but for the second serve I had to had another 400ml of chicken broth or I would just have had solids. A thoroughly enjoyable meal all round, thank you moramor, made for I Recommend Tag Game (recommended by Katzens).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This was SO yummy! I used button, cremini, and portabella mushrooms, and used homemade vegetable stock which was made with added mushrooms as well. I'll definately be making this again - thanks for the awesome recipe! Made for PAC Spring '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I just made this soup on a snowy afternoon. It was OFF THE HOOK delicious!!!! I added flanken meat to it, made it a beef barley mushroom soup. The onions, I practically pureed and absolutely added such amazing flavor. I dropped a splash of sherry and doubled the recipe. My husband attacked and there is nothing left. I thought the soy sauce was unusual but it tasted delicious. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This soup is true comfort food at its best. We are all big mushroom fans so this was a much anticipated soup meal this afternoon. I added the dill into the broth rather than garnishing it with it. This recipe was tagged for the "Belly Warmers: Soups And Stews - January Event!" Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich Barley Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.7
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    57%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 749.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes