Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich and Flavorful Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich and Flavorful Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2009

      Cheese enchiladas are quite possibly my favorite food, so for me to say that these were uite possibly the best I have tasted is high praise. The only changes I made were that I started off with a roux because I like a thicker sauce, I left out the sherry because it was the last ingredient left to add and the sauce was already pretty perfect, and I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne instead of hot sauce. I was going to try to just stick to one, but they were so delicious, I had to hold myself back from eating a third.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      This sauce was excellent. I did not add the butter or sherry as I didn't have any on hand. Also added a chilpotle pepper and a sprinkle of sugar. Poured the left over sauce into a freezer bag and froze flat so I can break off what is needed. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      A wonderful enchilada sauce. Will be makeing again. Thanks for posting Julesong!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      I made enchilada's tonight and used this sauce recipe and it was great. I like that it wasn't spicy. I was sceptical, after it simmered it smelled spicy but tasted great. I followed the recipe exactly. What a great idea to can it. I may do that for future use. Thanks for a great recipe, I will no longer be buying canned enchilada sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      Thickened with a little roux and added a little powdered chipotle. Very easy and very good. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      This is a very good sauce. I made it for company and the enchiladas I made with some leftover grilled pork were the first thing gone. It was just the right amount for 2 large pans of enchiladas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      Fast, easy cheap. It couldn't have cost more than about 30 cents to make enough for two recipes. I had the time so I simmered it longer, also added a bit of chili powder. Great money saving recipe that makes the kitchen smell great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Just perfect in my book! I made it this morning and put it in two glass jars to use as I need it. There is plenty for two enchilada recipes. I love the combination of flavors and spices. I let it simmer for about 20 minutes to let it reduce in volume some. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This turned out pretty well for a quick fix. I didn't have any cider vinegar or dry sherry this time but I think I'll get some for next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich and Flavorful Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (942 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.7
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    14%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 588.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes