45 Reviews

I made these into mini brownie loaves and the other reviewers are right about them being better the next day. Next time, I will add a shot of espresso to make them taste a little richer and have that cut through some of the sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oparu October 19, 2008

I can't believe how great this recipe turned out. I actually made a few changes - I used 1 whole large egg rather than egg whites & I used splenda (baking sugar) rather than regular sugar. I just made them today - I think they're great. I'll be making these again - that's for sure. Joanne in Massachusetts

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
922111 August 13, 2008

For a low fat brownie...these are delicious!!! It satisfied the DH's sweet/chocolate craving and as other reviewers have noted...they really did taste even better the next day! Next time, I'm going to try to see if I can get away with decreasing the sugar a little. Thanks so much for posting this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn May 20, 2008

Great recipe, ate it the next day and it was lovely. Will make again with walnuts and possibly some sugar on top for a different texture. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalice March 01, 2008

SO good, Ive been baking low fat for years and this is amazing. I am still in shock at how good it is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msparis February 08, 2008

These were good. More cake-like than like brownies in my opinion, but good. I doubled the recipe as I only have a 9*13 inch pan, and used one egg instead of the egg whites and 2 cups of sugar total (since 3 1/2 cups seemed like it might be a bit excessively sweet). Aside from that I followed the recipe exactly. I will probably make these again, but not on a regular basis. When I make them, I will try to use good cocoa as all I had on hand was store brand which I think may have reduced the quality of the taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gross.s.e January 29, 2008

Absolutely delicious. I was looking for a low-fat recipe because the oil in standard mixes has a tendency to give me heartburn. I made these the first time to take to a Christmas party because the hostess is a fitness nut. I had intended to make a second batch of traditional (fattening) brownies for the others but had no need to, these were enjoyed by all. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liteofsomekind January 08, 2008

These brownies are DELICIOUS!! i never figured that low fat brownies would taste better than regular brownies. they remind me of a little debbie fudge round (minus the cream)... completly scrumptions. i'll defly make more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yeah917 October 27, 2007

We didn't like them at all and ended up throwing away almost the whole pan! They didn't have a very good chocolate flavor and you could definitely taste the applesauce! The texture also wasn't good. I was very disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz 78 October 20, 2007

Sorry, but the consistency and taste just wasn't there for us. I've had worse, but the texture was just too spongey. I ended up throwing them out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeighAnn May 15, 2007
Rich and Chewy Low Fat Brownies