45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, talk about YUM! This coming from the girl who ate approximately a third of the pan as soon as it came out of the oven. After waiting for it to cool (as one should!) the top went all crackly and chewy, and the brownies themselves were much better formed and brownie-like (as opposed to falling apart, fresh-from-the-oven texture). I definitely recommend these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KiwiMegan November 01, 2009

I made these with a few variations and they came out pretty good. Not as dense and chewy as I like my brownies but definitely not cakey either. I substituted brown sugar for some of the white sugar as well as decreasing the overall amount to 1 1/4 cups (3/4 cup white, 1/2 cup brown). I also did not have applesauce on hand so I used vanilla yogurt instead and it came out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistitan July 20, 2009

Excellent! Best looking brownies I've ever made. They were light and moist, and very chocolaty. I added dark chocolate chips to mine and cooked them a little longer. I wouldn't describe them as chewy, but everyone loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michluvsu May 02, 2009

I tried this recipe a couple of times and was very disappointed. It's more of a chocolate applesauce cake, and a bland one at that. I also had problems with getting this to cook through in the center.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Agent Woods April 06, 2009

If you're going for rich and chewy brownies then this is not the recipe to use. I'm a teenager and i know a good brownie when I taste one. There was nothing rich and chewy about them, it was more like a dense, slightly dry cake, not brownies. It also tasted very low-fat, though the flavor wasn't bad. I think I'll just stick to the fattening ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huffalli March 07, 2009

Pretty good stuff! I wanted to experiment around, so I added some candied cherries into it and it tasted amazing! I know it sort of ruins the healthy theme going on here, but it's worth it in my point of view! Thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ugottalovecarmen March 06, 2009

Definitely not 5 stars. Like most lowfat brownie recipes that use applesauce it does not cook well in a conventional oven. The center is always raw and the outer edges are always too cooked. I tried it as written and it just never cooked in the middle. Maybe it would work better in a bigger pan. Probably only works in a convection oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen_stl February 06, 2009

These are so good. Big hit with the family. I would recommend unsweet applesauce. I used regular and cut back on the sugar, but next time I will use unsweetened applesauce. I also added chocolate chips. The texture was perfect. Chewy on the inside and the edges were crisp and delish...Thanks for sharing...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfcook February 05, 2009

These were great! I couldn't tell with the texture that the applesauce was there. I used whole wheat pastry flour and couldn't tell. I wish that the ingredients were listed in the order used and I thought it strange to cream the butter and sugar with a mixer since there was so little butter. I just did it by hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker February 03, 2009

This is the first lowfat brownie recipe I have tried and I was not disappointed. They were delicious. I've used Hershey's chocolate cocoa and "Special Dark"cocoa and both turned out well. I've made them 3 times now and have shared then with friends. They are easy to make and come out rich and chewy. Yummy with no guilt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat Fischer October 20, 2008
Rich and Chewy Low Fat Brownies