Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rich and Chewy Low Fat Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rich and Chewy Low Fat Brownies

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2010

      These are incredible! I used this recipe to make my first ever batch of brownies from scratch (no more boxes for me!) and they were FANTASTIC. I LOVE using the applesauce (no sugar added kind). They came out moist and choclatey and actually got better the next day and the day after. They seemed to get moister and moister. This is my goto brownie from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Ummm WOW. I'm really fascinated with low fat brownie recipes now because the texture completely changes overnight. At first these had the slight texture of a spongecake (which was still actually really intriguing and tasty) but the next day, they had developed this great, classic fudgy/moist texture of a regular brownie. Delicious! I cut the sugar down to around 1 1/2 cups, and kept everything else the same, and they're just wonderful! This could actually be my favourite brownie recipe now, which says a lot since I've already had a favourite recipe for quite some time. But this one is just so rich and chocolatey, AND healthier. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      I made minor changes to this recipe. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup, and added 1/4 c of mini chocolate chips. Put the brownies in a square pan for 28 mins. They were delicious!! My kids are hard to please, but they came back for a second one...this recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      This is a better low fat brownie receipe than Fudgy Low-Fat Brownies. Note: The ingredients are not in order per directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

    • on July 08, 2012

      These brownies are SOOOOOO GOOD!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, but cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as another reviewer did. I love this low fat version, and it doesn't taste low fat at all! They also are chewy (my fav part about brownies). I just made these tonight and per other reviewers, they taste even better the next day... so I look forward to that. I may try making these a tad healthier next time and see how they turn out (white whole wheat flour instead and no sugar added applesauce).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      This unfortunately, is possibly the worst recipe I have ever tried. I love brownies, and I really wanted these to satisfy that deep craving. I followed it step by step, with the addition of chopped walnuts and although they look absolutely beautiful, the taste was horrid. Total waste of ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      Absolutely my favorite brownie recipe ever. I'm a faithful follower of the box, but to be honest these are so much healthier and just as easy! In addition to the cocoa I added cocoa for hot chocolate and slightly less sugar- slightly. Also sugar-free apple sause and added a little additional of that because of the extra cocoa. Thank you so much!! Will make these again and again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      To be fair, this was my first time making anything but full fat and heavy calorie laden brownies so I must admit, the comparison to my taste buds isn't really fair to what I'm sure is a very nice and healthy recipe. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as some of the other posts had suggested but I couldn't get through the applesauce taste. Since the recipe didn't specify I used reduced calorie applesauce, but it did still have some sugar in it and I think I would have liked it better with no sugar applesauce. My DH and DS liked it fine... so I'll give it 4 stars. I'll keep trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      For a low-fat brownie this is VERY good, the best recipe I've found so far. They were chewy, not cakey. I found it to be a tad bit on the sweet side so next time I make these I will decrease the sugar. I had to bake mine for 40 minutes. Overall a very good brownie. If you're looking for a low-fat brownie that's very similar to the full-fat brownies give this recipe a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Wow, talk about YUM! This coming from the girl who ate approximately a third of the pan as soon as it came out of the oven. After waiting for it to cool (as one should!) the top went all crackly and chewy, and the brownies themselves were much better formed and brownie-like (as opposed to falling apart, fresh-from-the-oven texture). I definitely recommend these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I made these with a few variations and they came out pretty good. Not as dense and chewy as I like my brownies but definitely not cakey either. I substituted brown sugar for some of the white sugar as well as decreasing the overall amount to 1 1/4 cups (3/4 cup white, 1/2 cup brown). I also did not have applesauce on hand so I used vanilla yogurt instead and it came out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Excellent! Best looking brownies I've ever made. They were light and moist, and very chocolaty. I added dark chocolate chips to mine and cooked them a little longer. I wouldn't describe them as chewy, but everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I tried this recipe a couple of times and was very disappointed. It's more of a chocolate applesauce cake, and a bland one at that. I also had problems with getting this to cook through in the center.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      If you're going for rich and chewy brownies then this is not the recipe to use. I'm a teenager and i know a good brownie when I taste one. There was nothing rich and chewy about them, it was more like a dense, slightly dry cake, not brownies. It also tasted very low-fat, though the flavor wasn't bad. I think I'll just stick to the fattening ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Pretty good stuff! I wanted to experiment around, so I added some candied cherries into it and it tasted amazing! I know it sort of ruins the healthy theme going on here, but it's worth it in my point of view! Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Definitely not 5 stars. Like most lowfat brownie recipes that use applesauce it does not cook well in a conventional oven. The center is always raw and the outer edges are always too cooked. I tried it as written and it just never cooked in the middle. Maybe it would work better in a bigger pan. Probably only works in a convection oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      These are so good. Big hit with the family. I would recommend unsweet applesauce. I used regular and cut back on the sugar, but next time I will use unsweetened applesauce. I also added chocolate chips. The texture was perfect. Chewy on the inside and the edges were crisp and delish...Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      These were great! I couldn't tell with the texture that the applesauce was there. I used whole wheat pastry flour and couldn't tell. I wish that the ingredients were listed in the order used and I thought it strange to cream the butter and sugar with a mixer since there was so little butter. I just did it by hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This is the first lowfat brownie recipe I have tried and I was not disappointed. They were delicious. I've used Hershey's chocolate cocoa and "Special Dark"cocoa and both turned out well. I've made them 3 times now and have shared then with friends. They are easy to make and come out rich and chewy. Yummy with no guilt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rich and Chewy Low Fat Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (812 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 147.9
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 118.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 21.9 g
    87%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites