Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice With Onions, Garlic and Herbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice With Onions, Garlic and Herbs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2011

      I have to start by saying that I didn't follow the method at all, just used the ingredients. I can't seem to get rice correct on the stove, especially since I cook for one, so I use a fuzzy logic rice cooker. I cut the onion, garlic and herbs by four, and used 3/4 cup rice plus 7/8 (or a bit more) homemade chicken stock. I started by sauteing the rice in oil (in the cooking bowl), then adding most of the onion paste and cooking that for a minute or two. Then I added the stock, closed the lid, and let it go until the cooker stopped. Perfect! The smell as it cooked was heavenly, and the finished dish did not disappoint. I didn't need to add any salt, as my stock was salty enough. I'll definitely make this again, it was easy and wonderful! Made for ZWT7- Emerald City Shakers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      This rice was a great change up - we loved the flavours from the onion mix, an extra step but well worth it. I would recommend to use either parboiled or basmati rice instead of long grain, as the rice turned sticky, but I only used 2 tsp of oil so perhaps this was the reason for the stickiness. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed this dish! Made for ZWT 7 - by Food.Commandoes

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      Very flavorful and easy to make. I liked that you puree the onions and herbs before adding it to the rice; it is easier to get the family to eat it without them finding "chunks". I did wash the rice before hand to get some of the starch off and also decreased the garlic to 4 large cloves. Will make this again. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      i halved the herbs ingredients only because my husbands not to big on that kind of stuff. But other than that, i cooked the rice like i normally do, instead of doing the 2 cups of rice and 3 cups of broth. Anyways.....i love this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly and this worked out very well. Very tasty rice that cooked perfectly. I used it to accompany my Very Quick Butter Chickpeas (Vegetarian Butter Chicken!), we found they went extremely well together, tons of flavour, and I will definitely make this again. Thank you, Midwest Maven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Great recipe, very tasty rice. I used basmati brown rice so I increased the broth to close to 4 cups - it worked out well. I was a little short on the amount of basil so I chopped it and added it in at the end. This does make quite a bit, I'd say more like 6 servings as a side. But leftovers will be fantastic! Made during ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      Really a nice change of pace from plain old rice. It sort of tasted like pesto was added to the rice. I found I only had 1 cup of long grain rice, so added 1 cup of long-grain basmati rice. This worked out just fine, although this ended up cooking for about 27 minutes. The rice came out perfectly and tasty. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7 by a Hot Pink Lady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I cut the recipe in half and that made two VERY LARGE servings. This had just a bit too much garlic for us, but the parsley and basil were just right. I will cut the garlic down next time. Recipe is well written and easy. Made for ZWT 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Midwest we enjoyed this rice so much. My picky dh ate his plate and finished off the rice on mine, high praise indeed at my house. The rice was so flavorful, loved the onion pesto addition. I served this with Pollo Encebollado for a truly incredible meal. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice With Onions, Garlic and Herbs

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.3
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    12%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 269.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.9 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites