Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice With Onion (Mashkoul) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice With Onion (Mashkoul)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2011

      This rice turned out perfect light and though! I added about 1/3 of cup of water to pyrex mold in the oven as the cover was not tight. I baked it 15 minutes. Next time I will try with turmeric and onother time I will try to roast some cumin with the onions too.
      Thanks a lot for this tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Ooooh, this was yummy and we couldn't stop eating it! What I did: First, the recipe was cut in half. For no other reason except I wanted to, I substituted regular long grain white rice. Yellow onion from our CSA box. Added 1 3/4 teaspoons of salt. Baked in a buttered 8" Pyrex pan for about 20 minutes. Carefully turned pan upside down and placed the rice on a serving platter. Next time I will use basmati and try the alternate suggestions of flavored broth, turmeric and pine nut garnish; and add a little more extra onion. Qualifies to be added to my official Best of 2011 Cookbook. Reviewed for NA*ME tag and Veg Tag/March. Served with Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free) (you can view my menu with that review).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Such a simple recipe but so tasty. I was a bit distracted and my butter had started to get a little brown before I tossed the onions in, and I have to say that turned out quite well. Thanks for an easy variation to an otherwise plain side.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      This was the perfect side dish to serve with our Teriyaki chicken thighs!!! I made as written, adding the chicken bouillion cube to the water except I did add some sea salt and pepper to the sauteed onions. 18 yo DS even commented that he enjoyed the rice. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I made exactly as stated and it was perfect. Rice was fluffy and light. Wonderfully seasoned with the onions and How to Prepare Ghee. Made for ZWT 6 Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      I finally got to try this recipe,which I've been eyeing for a while. Delicious! made for ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This was a great dish!! The natural taste of the basmati rice only needs onions to make it SO TASTY!! We loved this- and what a nice, easy sidedish. Even my DD, who doesn't like onions, liked this. Thanks so much!! ZWT6 and the Xtra Hot Dishes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Perfect! I made this in record-time. And...and...it was as easy as anything. I am a rice failure. I have had trouble with rice for the last ten years. As a kid, I could make rice and rice and rice. But something happened. I couldn't do it, and then your recipe came here, and it was wonderful. I didn't change anything except use long grain rice from "Uncle Ben"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This went over really well with DH. :) He isn't a huge rice fan so this is a huge deal! lol Very easy to put together. I didn't have basmati rice so used the long grain white rice that I had. I didn't have any problems with it sticking together. Cooked for the 8 minutes you have. I did spritz the rice though once in the baking dish. Baked for a total of 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Thanks so much for sharing! We had this with Sautéed Mushrooms and Parmesan Crumbed Chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I made a half recipe of this using the stock and turmeric options and 1 medium onion. It was ever so easy and super yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice With Onion (Mashkoul)

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.3
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    30%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 26.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1401.8 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes