10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This rice turned out perfect light and though! I added about 1/3 of cup of water to pyrex mold in the oven as the cover was not tight. I baked it 15 minutes. Next time I will try with turmeric and onother time I will try to roast some cumin with the onions too.
Thanks a lot for this tasty recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde August 20, 2011

Ooooh, this was yummy and we couldn't stop eating it! What I did: First, the recipe was cut in half. For no other reason except I wanted to, I substituted regular long grain white rice. Yellow onion from our CSA box. Added 1 3/4 teaspoons of salt. Baked in a buttered 8" Pyrex pan for about 20 minutes. Carefully turned pan upside down and placed the rice on a serving platter. Next time I will use basmati and try the alternate suggestions of flavored broth, turmeric and pine nut garnish; and add a little more extra onion. Qualifies to be added to my official Best of 2011 Cookbook. Reviewed for NA*ME tag and Veg Tag/March. Served with Roasted Chicken Al-Kabsa (Saudi) (Gluten Free) (you can view my menu with that review).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 28, 2011

Such a simple recipe but so tasty. I was a bit distracted and my butter had started to get a little brown before I tossed the onions in, and I have to say that turned out quite well. Thanks for an easy variation to an otherwise plain side.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte January 08, 2011

This was the perfect side dish to serve with our Teriyaki chicken thighs!!! I made as written, adding the chicken bouillion cube to the water except I did add some sea salt and pepper to the sauteed onions. 18 yo DS even commented that he enjoyed the rice. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 30, 2010

I made exactly as stated and it was perfect. Rice was fluffy and light. Wonderfully seasoned with the onions and How to Prepare Ghee. Made for ZWT 6 Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 18, 2010

I finally got to try this recipe,which I've been eyeing for a while. Delicious! made for ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 17, 2010

This was a great dish!! The natural taste of the basmati rice only needs onions to make it SO TASTY!! We loved this- and what a nice, easy sidedish. Even my DD, who doesn't like onions, liked this. Thanks so much!! ZWT6 and the Xtra Hot Dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 11, 2010

Perfect! I made this in record-time. And...and...it was as easy as anything. I am a rice failure. I have had trouble with rice for the last ten years. As a kid, I could make rice and rice and rice. But something happened. I couldn't do it, and then your recipe came here, and it was wonderful. I didn't change anything except use long grain rice from "Uncle Ben"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 07, 2010

This went over really well with DH. :) He isn't a huge rice fan so this is a huge deal! lol Very easy to put together. I didn't have basmati rice so used the long grain white rice that I had. I didn't have any problems with it sticking together. Cooked for the 8 minutes you have. I did spritz the rice though once in the baking dish. Baked for a total of 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Thanks so much for sharing! We had this with Sautéed Mushrooms and Parmesan Crumbed Chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast April 06, 2010

I made a half recipe of this using the stock and turmeric options and 1 medium onion. It was ever so easy and super yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS April 05, 2010
Rice With Onion (Mashkoul)