Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Salad

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2003

      Delicious! I served it at a dinner party and got loads of compliments. The women all wanted the recipe. Enjoy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      Yummy salad! I did double the dressing and added just a bit more sugar. Used 1 cup of frozen peas just brought to a boil (left out the corn). We like dark balsamic vinegar and a vegetable oil in the dressing. I'm serving this to my gourmet brother-inlaw!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      I added just a touch of sesame oil. Delicious. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      This was a good recipe! I 1/2'd the rice mixture and kept dressing at full amount. Next time, I think, I'll reduce the oil amount. It felt just a bit oily to us, but I will definitely use the recipe again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      We found this to be a bit bland. I doubled this and used a mixture of brown rice and white rice (cooked separately) and a 15 oz can of peas and a 15 oz can of corn. (I did not measure the peas and corn). Ultimately the kids ate small second helpings with some leftover Thai Dipping Sauce for Spring Wrap or Egg Rolls mixed in. I guess the rice/veggie combo was a winner, anyway. I did forget to add the almonds when I served this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Very good!! I left out the almonds since I had none and like some others used red sweet peppers instead of celery. Used balsamic vinegar. I used frozen peas and added cilantro. We all liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      my mom made this and said it went over well at a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      Thanks for a great recipe. All my guests loved it! A definite keeper! Very quick, easy and yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I really like this salad, but I cut way down on the onion, as even though I didn't use the full amount the first time I made it, I still found it to be overpowering. The last time I made this I used about a 1/4 cup sliced green onion in a double recipe, and it was fine. I use half brown and half white rice and uncooked frozen peas and corn; it comes out with a yummy chewy texture along with the almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      This didn't work for me. it tasted like a strange combination of ingridients. I used brown rice, may be that was the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Liked it for the most part but did not like the cold oily residue(used canola) on the rice. All in all the flavor was good though. This is a recipe worth playing with. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This is an excellent salad, so quick & easy to make, especially using leftover rice! Having said that, I wasn't sure how 1 cup of uncooked rice equated to cooked rice. I used 3 cups of my favourite "Dainty Time-Wise" brown rice which doesn't go mushy when cooked like some brown rices. After adding frozen peas & corn and spring onions, I needed to double the dressing. It is definitely comparable to fried rice and I'll add some chopped egg next time. Thanx Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious!!! I added a secret ingredient...egg... I will definitely make this again... WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This was really good! Kind of like cold fried rice. I started off with cooked long grain, brown rice. Then, I used 1/2 red onion and half scallions. I also used fresh, chopped snap peas in place of the canned, and no corn. I also used a full T. of vinegar, and 2 T. of the soy sauce. Then, tossed in about 1/2 c. candied almonds I had on hand. I would think cashews would be really good! I think I will add a grated carrot, or two next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I was afraid this was going to be just one simple rice dish, and that maybe my family wouldn't really care for. Well let me tell they loved it! It was so easy to put together with great taste. This would be a great dish to make for party's where you have to serve lots of people. Because it easy and cheap :) Thank you very much for this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • This is excellent and a great make ahead recipe. I had a group of fussy guests for dinner over the holidays and everyone loved this salad. The ladies were all asked by their respective husbands to get the recipe and possibly some samples to bring home. When I made it that morning and my husband sampled it, he said you had better double up on that stuff because it has 5 stars from me. What a hit and a great way to use up leftover rice. Thanks for the super recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Thanks for posting this recipe! I had tried similar recipes at various restaurants and BBQ's but never thought I would be able to make a version that would rival the professionals! Thanks to you I can! Delicious and best of all, so simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      DH and I both loved this salad. I didn't add almonds -- didn't have any. I also used balsamic vinegar for the vinegar. I tossed in some leftover roast beef and brown rice and cut up chinese cabbage to add to it. I hope I didn't change your recipe too much, but I personally think the dressing made it. Will go into the keeper file. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I doubled this and served it to 20 guests I had over for a summer dinner. So easy to make. All I would do to change it a bit is add a bit more curry powder. Makes a nice change on a hot summer day. Thanks for this recipe as well Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      We were disappointed as we didn't think this had much flavor even though I made it 24 hours before our picnic. Hey, you never know until you try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.9
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    43%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 159.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites