Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Pudding -- Mexican Style, Arroz Con Leche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Pudding -- Mexican Style, Arroz Con Leche

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2009

      GREAT RECIPE! Now, what I got frustrated with was the stirring. I kept on stirring that thing for 1 hour (I'm not exaggerating) over low heat and it was still not thickening. So what I did was I brought it to high heat and let it boil a little, then started stirring again, and THEN it thickened! I forgot to put the salt and I didn't put the lime peel. I also put only 3/4 cup of sugar and the sugar level is good. It tastes great!!! If anyone is having the same stirring problem, I think the solution is just to bring up the heat and let it boil a little, then stir. I guess the stirring over low heat is just to make sure the rice is not hard (?). Thanks for posting this one up! This is the recipe I'll use whenever I want to make some more Arroz Con Leche! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I made a double batch of this recipe, and cooked it in my slow cooker. Well lets just say it filled a 6quart slow cooker. Yeah I know a lot of rice, an as soon as my 4 boys tasted it there was none left. this recipe is a deffinate keeper. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      i used evaporated milk with regular milk, it didn't seem to take too long to thicken. i also used lime peel and 1 cinnamon stick. it tasted just like the arroz con leche u get in the market frozen, the ones that come in individual cups. i liked this recipe, not too complicated. i'm quite lazy. i also omitted the raisins, not a fan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Incredible recipe! So easy to make and so tasty! I cooked this while I was cooking dinner and it was ready in time for desert. I chose not to use the lime and used medium grain rice and it was still just as good! I was very happy with this recipe and did not have any trouble. A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      This was absolutely wonderful! So much so, that I had people from my Church who are from the Hispanic community asking for my recipe! Took a long time to get it to boiling, but then, I increased the ingredients to make 30 servings... if you do this, make sure you have a stirring partner! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      This recipe is very easy and delicious & it reminds me of my grandmother!

      When I made it, I used 4 strips of orange zest instead of lime and it was amazing. Also, I like it a little soupy but my husband doesn't, so for him, I placed some in a casserole, set it in a warm oven (after I made dinner) and left it for about 40 minutes. It was way to "cheesy" looking to me, but he loved it! It looked more like a bread pudding texture. I serve this with homemade Apple Pie Schnapps, both warm, to guests and no body talked until they were finished!! Great combo! PS there is a schnapps recipe on this website, easier than the rice pudding!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      There was way too much cinnamon to me. I thought the base was delicious though. in order to counteract the taste of the cinnamon I added lime juice and it was amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      This didn't quite taste authentic to me. There was a lot of cinnamon and it took far too long to cook. I will most likely be using a modified version of this recipe for ny daughter's third birthday (huge in Mexican culture) but it just doesn't taste right. It's still good, however. I'll have my husband tast it when he gets home from work to see what needs to be changed.

      Also, a lot of Hispanics eat this dish warm and some leave it runny and serve it as a warm drink with or without chocolate added to it, like a chunky hot chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Taste just like my mothers, everyone in my familiy was impressed with it, will deffently use it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      This recipe was delicious!! My son was sick one day and I made this for him and he cheered right up.. The whole time it was cooking he said mom that smells good! I did not add the lime and I used a can of condensed milk. It came out wonderful thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I used the cinnamon powder not the sticks...Next time I will use the sticks..with half the cinnamon powder...I Loved this recipe...there is a lot of stirring...but very worth it..i did up the temp. 2 to 3 times during the stirring to help the thickening...I thought i stood there a good solid 15 minutes...I also used the lime....Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      I am extreamly picky when it comes to arroz con leche, and this recipe it worth all the stiring. I did have a little bit of an issue on step 4, with waiting for the pudding to thicken- like another reviewer mentioned I also turned up the heat and brought it to a boil and it seemed to thicken immediately. Overall, a wonderful recipe and I will be making again. Thank you for this contribution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      We really enjoyed this recipe! I cooked the rice according to the package instructions (slightly less than two cups of water), with lemon zest instead of lime. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, and found it was still too sweet for my tastes. Next time I'll try 3/4 c. This will definitely be made often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      The flavour is delicious, but mine is more like rice soup! I think the 3 cups of water is just too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

    • on October 27, 2009

      EXCELLENT!! My husband is extremely picky about his rice pudding and he LOVES this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was a happy ending to our Mexican meal! Every bite just got better and better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This recipe reminds me of my grandmothers. I add al ittle more vanilla than instructed because I love it so much. Whenever we go to my in-laws I'm always expected to bring arroz con leche by the pound. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. Oh yeah one more thing I dont add raisins and its still just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Very good. Forgot to put in the raisens and it still worked out. I would probably put in half the sugar next time jsut from a health perspective.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Taste just like the one my mother used to make when I was young. Instead of using vanilla extract I used whole vanilla beans and added it to the rice when I cooked it in the water with cinammon. It was yummy my husband and daughter laughed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Pudding -- Mexican Style, Arroz Con Leche

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 448.1
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    14%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 53.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 123.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.7 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 54.8 g
    219%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites