194 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I've never made rice pudding before since my mom's recipe uses an egg. This recipe was so easy and is so yummy! I added more sugar but shouldn't have. Next time I'll stick to 1/2 a cup. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone September 24, 2009

So addictive. I couldn't stop eating it! Cheryl (the recipe creator) recommends the perfect amount of sugar - not too sweet. Just a sprinkling of cinnamon and half as much vanilla was used. Also added some yogurt-covered golden raisins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ulysses September 05, 2009

I have made this recipe many times now , my husband loves it..i use less sugar in the recipe because my husband has a spoonful of raspberry jam on top..so thanks from Dandy ..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandy February 24, 2008

A wonderful recipe...identical to the one in Joy of Cooking. A great low fat dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terese Teague January 04, 2003

I fixed this for mother & I, last night. It is so delicious and very easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Granny Judy December 08, 2002

Wonderful recipe with good instructions. I added some caramels and left or the cinnamon. Delicious. I'll do that again, but cut back on the sugar. This time I decided to add the caramels while everything was simmering kind of last minute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie January 11, 2015

Made this today as I was hungry for rice pudding - I added about a teaspoon of butter to the rice when cooking to keep it from bubbling up. I used SuperSkim milk (tastes like whole but no fat), added raisins and cinnamon when I added the milk and didn't measure the vanilla (so I probably used more than 1/2 teaspoon). The amount of sugar was perfect - it is plenty sweet enough for me. Next time I may stop cooking it when it is a little runnier - mine thickened up a little too thick. Great low fat dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat6456 January 05, 2014

After reading the reviews I decided to put in 3/4 cup sugar, it was a little too sweet. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly because it was pretty good! I have tried 2 other recipes and so far this one is the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crankykarie October 30, 2013

I used jasmine rice and only half the sugar. For me it was perfect. It took less time to cook it probably because of the rice and also I made half the recipe. It's so yummy. Thanks Cheryl :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 15, 2013

I am the Poster Child for "Not Reading Directions" ... so ... I put everything but the vanilla into the pot all at once (in my defense, though, I was previously reading a recipe where everything went in all at once). I must say this is one of those times where the mistake came out awesome! I doubled the recipe and made a huge ol' pot! I added 1 tsp almond extract and 2 tsps vanilla at the end (yes, I know that's triple, not double! LOL - I love vanilla!). I grated some fresh nutmeg onto my bowl and am currently chowing down! YUM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys March 27, 2013
Rice Pudding