194 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe this morning because I had a sweet tooth and needed a little comfort food. It was wonderful. It was so simple to make. ( I made it while studying my sunday school lesson) I added cinammon with the milk and also added more vanilla than the recipe called for, but of course all of this should be done to a person's taste. Thankyou for posting this! I will make it again.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anga June 21, 2002

This is just like my mother made when I was young. I increased the sugar to 3/4 cup, added raisins, and nutmeg to taste. My husband thought it was great.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clw721 September 29, 2002

I make this for my elderly mother using lactose free skim milk and it is terrific! I also add a teaspoon of cinnamon with the milk.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlb June 17, 2002

Very good rice pudding! I used to make it with egg but I like this recipe better. A bit more healthy for my hubby with the sweet tooth. I used 1% milk and it turned out perfectly.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi March 06, 2003

My husband really enjoyed this I told my mother and she said that this was a great recipe she had one almost like it when she was growing up in west virginia she said that it reminded her of her mothers. So thank you for this one!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth923 March 31, 2003

This is soooooooo good.The only change I made (based on other reviews) was to increase sugar to 3/4 c and added 1 tsp vanilla instead of 1/2 tsp, which I added along with the milk and sugar. I didn't set my timer until the milk/rice came up to a soft simmer. Then I set the timer for 30 min. I probably added about another min while I was trying to decide whether or not to take it off the heat, because it seemed quite soupy. I took it off, and now it's cooling in the pan on the stove, and it has thickened up beautifully. I know because I can't keep my spoon out of it. Thanks for a great recipe

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 June 28, 2010

Cheryl E, Perfection, quick, easy and fool proof made as directed delicious warm or chilled!
This will go into my Heirloom Cookbook thank you for posting Chery E!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo February 28, 2011

This recipe is sensational! I made it for my boyfriend (whom grew up in a Colombian household where arroz con leche is their favorite dessert) and after taking his first bite, proposed! So needless to say, I think this recipe is a winner! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagerbaby17 April 15, 2007

I am the Poster Child for "Not Reading Directions" ... so ... I put everything but the vanilla into the pot all at once (in my defense, though, I was previously reading a recipe where everything went in all at once). I must say this is one of those times where the mistake came out awesome! I doubled the recipe and made a huge ol' pot! I added 1 tsp almond extract and 2 tsps vanilla at the end (yes, I know that's triple, not double! LOL - I love vanilla!). I grated some fresh nutmeg onto my bowl and am currently chowing down! YUM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys March 27, 2013

Amazing! I ended up using 1 cup rice and added a 1/3 cup of coconut milk (leftover from making curry for dinner). I also added raisins towards the last 10 mins, which helped to plump them up. I served this warm, with cinnamon sprinkled on top. I also kept this on the stove at a low heat and only stirred occasionally (because I was eating my curry dinner). I also omit the vanilla extract because I did not have any left (but I'm sure it would have been a little better with it, but still tasted wonderful without it). I also added 3/4 cup sugar as recommended from other reviewers. My mom suggested that I add more rice next time because she wants her rice pudding to have more rice, but I think it's fine as is. But if you add another 1/2 cup to the recipe, it would probably still come out just as creamy. thank you for sharing an easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 July 09, 2010
Rice Pudding