Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    193 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 193

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2002

      I made this recipe this morning because I had a sweet tooth and needed a little comfort food. It was wonderful. It was so simple to make. ( I made it while studying my sunday school lesson) I added cinammon with the milk and also added more vanilla than the recipe called for, but of course all of this should be done to a person's taste. Thankyou for posting this! I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      This is just like my mother made when I was young. I increased the sugar to 3/4 cup, added raisins, and nutmeg to taste. My husband thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      I make this for my elderly mother using lactose free skim milk and it is terrific! I also add a teaspoon of cinnamon with the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      Very good rice pudding! I used to make it with egg but I like this recipe better. A bit more healthy for my hubby with the sweet tooth. I used 1% milk and it turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      My husband really enjoyed this I told my mother and she said that this was a great recipe she had one almost like it when she was growing up in west virginia she said that it reminded her of her mothers. So thank you for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This is soooooooo good.The only change I made (based on other reviews) was to increase sugar to 3/4 c and added 1 tsp vanilla instead of 1/2 tsp, which I added along with the milk and sugar. I didn't set my timer until the milk/rice came up to a soft simmer. Then I set the timer for 30 min. I probably added about another min while I was trying to decide whether or not to take it off the heat, because it seemed quite soupy. I took it off, and now it's cooling in the pan on the stove, and it has thickened up beautifully. I know because I can't keep my spoon out of it. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This recipe is sensational! I made it for my boyfriend (whom grew up in a Colombian household where arroz con leche is their favorite dessert) and after taking his first bite, proposed! So needless to say, I think this recipe is a winner! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Cheryl E, Perfection, quick, easy and fool proof made as directed delicious warm or chilled!
      This will go into my Heirloom Cookbook thank you for posting Chery E!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Amazing! I ended up using 1 cup rice and added a 1/3 cup of coconut milk (leftover from making curry for dinner). I also added raisins towards the last 10 mins, which helped to plump them up. I served this warm, with cinnamon sprinkled on top. I also kept this on the stove at a low heat and only stirred occasionally (because I was eating my curry dinner). I also omit the vanilla extract because I did not have any left (but I'm sure it would have been a little better with it, but still tasted wonderful without it). I also added 3/4 cup sugar as recommended from other reviewers. My mom suggested that I add more rice next time because she wants her rice pudding to have more rice, but I think it's fine as is. But if you add another 1/2 cup to the recipe, it would probably still come out just as creamy. thank you for sharing an easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Delicious!! My father used to make this (we called it Rice Cream) when I was a kid and I never learned how to make it. This is just like what he used to make!! The only changes I made were similar to others.. I've tried it twice so far and the first time I used 3/4 cup of sugar (brown and white mixed) and 1tsp vanilla and sultanas. Second one I used the same vanilla amount and sultanas, plus 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 to 1tsp of molasses (you could use treacle or maple syrup I suppose)... was fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Delicious! I've never made rice pudding before since my mom's recipe uses an egg. This recipe was so easy and is so yummy! I added more sugar but shouldn't have. Next time I'll stick to 1/2 a cup. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      So addictive. I couldn't stop eating it! Cheryl (the recipe creator) recommends the perfect amount of sugar - not too sweet. Just a sprinkling of cinnamon and half as much vanilla was used. Also added some yogurt-covered golden raisins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I have made this recipe many times now , my husband loves it..i use less sugar in the recipe because my husband has a spoonful of raspberry jam on top..so thanks from Dandy ..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      A wonderful recipe...identical to the one in Joy of Cooking. A great low fat dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      I fixed this for mother & I, last night. It is so delicious and very easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Made this today as I was hungry for rice pudding - I added about a teaspoon of butter to the rice when cooking to keep it from bubbling up. I used SuperSkim milk (tastes like whole but no fat), added raisins and cinnamon when I added the milk and didn't measure the vanilla (so I probably used more than 1/2 teaspoon). The amount of sugar was perfect - it is plenty sweet enough for me. Next time I may stop cooking it when it is a little runnier - mine thickened up a little too thick. Great low fat dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      After reading the reviews I decided to put in 3/4 cup sugar, it was a little too sweet. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly because it was pretty good! I have tried 2 other recipes and so far this one is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I used jasmine rice and only half the sugar. For me it was perfect. It took less time to cook it probably because of the rice and also I made half the recipe. It's so yummy. Thanks Cheryl :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      I am the Poster Child for "Not Reading Directions" ... so ... I put everything but the vanilla into the pot all at once (in my defense, though, I was previously reading a recipe where everything went in all at once). I must say this is one of those times where the mistake came out awesome! I doubled the recipe and made a huge ol' pot! I added 1 tsp almond extract and 2 tsps vanilla at the end (yes, I know that's triple, not double! LOL - I love vanilla!). I grated some fresh nutmeg onto my bowl and am currently chowing down! YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Great recipe. I added about half a tsp nutmeg and put cinnamon on afterward. I added 3 eggs at the time I added the milk to increase the protein content. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 757.4
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    19%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 48.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 507.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 131.5 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 74.6 g
    298%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites