Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Pilaf with Herbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Pilaf with Herbs

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2002

      This had a very nice flavor loved by young one and us not so young. I am going to add some pine nuts in this next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      I made this easy and delicious recipie to compliment the cornish hens we were having for supper. My husband and I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Excellent flavour of the herbs! This is the FIRST rice pilaf I have made with herbs, today-first time! I am going to rememeber you for life for such a wonderful pilaf!! I substituted the butter with cooking oil, thyme with rosemary and the chicken broth with vegetable broth. I used 3/4 cup of onions and 1/2 cup of celery as I was short on the celery. I'll add pine nuts next time - too bad I missed seeing CJ's review this afternoon before I got to make this. Mom, my brother and me, we all had a hearty meal. Thank U, you are GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I loved this rice! I made it as directed the first time and loved it, but the second time I tweaked it a little. I took humblehousewife's advice and added toasted sliced almonds and 2 cloves of garlic. I also added a little more onion, and about 1/2 of chopped matchstick carrots. I also cooked it on the stovetop because I already had chicken cooking at 400 degrees. I browned the rice and veggies as directed, then added the liquid and brought to a boil, covered it and simmered it on low heat for about 20 minutes. This is a really good base recipe and I will likely make it again and expirement with other veggies and herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      This rice is amazing! Living in Panama we eat rice with almost every meal and I love it but the same old recipes get boring. This is a wonderful addition to any meal and I will use it regularly. Guests raved, husband oooed and ahhhed - thank you! love it! love it! love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      I will be preparing this rice dish again!! I didn't change a thing in Miss Nezz's recipe and won't in the future. It is perfect as is. I served the rice pilaf as a side dish to grilled pork chops. Mmmh...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      Superb recipe. We truly enjoyed this along with some glazed halibut. It was the perfect complement and the herbs kept it light and fresh tasting. Thanks once again MizzNezz for such a great addition to our recipe collection! Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      Easy to make and wonderful flavor. We made this to accompany grilled shrimp. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      This was better than I thought it would be. Very nice flavor and texture - and NOT sticky and clumpy! I did NOT rinse the rice before browning, and I was afraid I would have a sticky clumpy pan of rice, but the grains separated nicely. I used ground celery instead of fresh, and used a carrot instead for added color. Very good and I can think of a bunch of variations. Thanks for a great new side dish. I did this on the stovetop - after browning the rice I just brought the liquid to a boil, turned to very low heat, and simmered for 15 minutes, fluffed, and let stand for 5 before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I didn't expect much out of this recipe, as I've tried so many pilaf recipes that turned out tasteless. But, what a pleasant surprise I received after cooking it tonight for my family of 6. Very, very good. And not a speck left! Like so many others suggested I added some finely chopped carrots, a little more onion and some minced garlic. I also reduced the thyme, as we're not fond of that particular herb. Cooked perfectly on the stove top! Seriously, this is better than any pilaf I've had at a restaurant, even those of highest quality. Thanks for sharing MizzNezz! This ones a keeper for sure!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Made this a while ago and it was great. Added carrots like a lot of other reviewers. The amount of rice is huge, fed about 8 people and still had leftovers. Love having a different variation for rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Wonderful rice pilaf. Very easy to do. The seasonings are great. It gave me a lot of leftover perfect for the lunches. Thanks MizzNezz :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      After all the great reviews, I hate to report that I didn't care for this rice pilaf. The texture was almost perfect, but the spices were way too strong for my tastes. Sorry, MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      This was really tasty! Everyone one loved it and went back for seconds. I added in fresh basil and cilantro. I cooked the rice in my rice cooker instead of baking it and added the fresh herbs at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Very tasty, but be warned, this does make alot! Serve up with your favorite baked fish and green vegetable. Can't wait to try this with fresh herbs right out of our garden. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This is a very good Pilaf if you like a lot of different flavors. We happen to prefer a pilaf that doesn't have quite so much going on -- the oregano, thyme and basil were a little too busy for me. However, the pilaf is very flavorable and the nice was very tender and fluffy. I am going to make it again -- I think for us, we will eliminate the oregano, thyme and basil -- OR cut way, way back on the amounts called for. I served this with some salmon and brocolli -- and it was a really nice accompaniment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Loved it! Delicious combo of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Easy to put together and very satisfying! Will be making this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This is excellent, it was quick and easy to make and it was so flavourful. My mother and I thought is reminded us of turkey stuffing because of the flavour of the spices. Very nice dish I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This came out well, despite my improvising on a few things. I used a cup of celery and carrots mixed. I didn't have chicken broth, so I used 4 cups of water with 4 tsp chicken bouillon. I also didn't have any onion, so I used about 1-1 & 1/2 tsp of onion powder. Also didn't have thyme or basil, so I added about a tsp of garlic powder (I love garlic though) for extra flavor. I cooked it on the stove for about 15-20 minutes. It was yummy, and just needed a little salt and pepper. The veggies came out nice and soft, which is a plus for me. I can't wait to make this as is, as I'm sure it'll be even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Pilaf with Herbs

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.3
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    24%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 485.6 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes