52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This had a very nice flavor loved by young one and us not so young. I am going to add some pine nuts in this next time I make it.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J April 18, 2002

I made this easy and delicious recipie to compliment the cornish hens we were having for supper. My husband and I loved it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jachristensen December 13, 2002

Excellent flavour of the herbs! This is the FIRST rice pilaf I have made with herbs, today-first time! I am going to rememeber you for life for such a wonderful pilaf!! I substituted the butter with cooking oil, thyme with rosemary and the chicken broth with vegetable broth. I used 3/4 cup of onions and 1/2 cup of celery as I was short on the celery. I'll add pine nuts next time - too bad I missed seeing CJ's review this afternoon before I got to make this. Mom, my brother and me, we all had a hearty meal. Thank U, you are GREAT!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani September 12, 2002

I loved this rice! I made it as directed the first time and loved it, but the second time I tweaked it a little. I took humblehousewife's advice and added toasted sliced almonds and 2 cloves of garlic. I also added a little more onion, and about 1/2 of chopped matchstick carrots. I also cooked it on the stovetop because I already had chicken cooking at 400 degrees. I browned the rice and veggies as directed, then added the liquid and brought to a boil, covered it and simmered it on low heat for about 20 minutes. This is a really good base recipe and I will likely make it again and expirement with other veggies and herbs.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnetteM August 25, 2008

This rice is amazing! Living in Panama we eat rice with almost every meal and I love it but the same old recipes get boring. This is a wonderful addition to any meal and I will use it regularly. Guests raved, husband oooed and ahhhed - thank you! love it! love it! love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blisstir January 15, 2004

I will be preparing this rice dish again!! I didn't change a thing in Miss Nezz's recipe and won't in the future. It is perfect as is. I served the rice pilaf as a side dish to grilled pork chops. Mmmh...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day November 14, 2003

Superb recipe. We truly enjoyed this along with some glazed halibut. It was the perfect complement and the herbs kept it light and fresh tasting. Thanks once again MizzNezz for such a great addition to our recipe collection! Dianne

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady October 02, 2003

Easy to make and wonderful flavor. We made this to accompany grilled shrimp. Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valgieg1 July 05, 2003

This was better than I thought it would be. Very nice flavor and texture - and NOT sticky and clumpy! I did NOT rinse the rice before browning, and I was afraid I would have a sticky clumpy pan of rice, but the grains separated nicely. I used ground celery instead of fresh, and used a carrot instead for added color. Very good and I can think of a bunch of variations. Thanks for a great new side dish. I did this on the stovetop - after browning the rice I just brought the liquid to a boil, turned to very low heat, and simmered for 15 minutes, fluffed, and let stand for 5 before serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy March 26, 2010

I didn't expect much out of this recipe, as I've tried so many pilaf recipes that turned out tasteless. But, what a pleasant surprise I received after cooking it tonight for my family of 6. Very, very good. And not a speck left! Like so many others suggested I added some finely chopped carrots, a little more onion and some minced garlic. I also reduced the thyme, as we're not fond of that particular herb. Cooked perfectly on the stove top! Seriously, this is better than any pilaf I've had at a restaurant, even those of highest quality. Thanks for sharing MizzNezz! This ones a keeper for sure!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Nickels October 08, 2008
Rice Pilaf with Herbs