Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice, Lentils and Dried Cranberries Garnished With Pine Nuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice, Lentils and Dried Cranberries Garnished With Pine Nuts

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2009

      This was good, but unfortunately I couldn't taste the cranberries. They re-hydrated themselves during cooking and their texture and flavor just disappeared. Next time, I will add the cranberries just a few minutes before serving. But overall, we enjoyed it. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Tasty and very easy. The cranberries give a touch of sweetness. I used brown rice, puy lentils, and an extra cup of water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      A good healthy standby meal using items that we usually have in the pantry. I use brown rice and top with some really good olive oil, which really adds to the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Interesting mix of flavors and a really healthy meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      So very simple to make in the rice cooker! Very low in fat, it has no cholesterol and there is a nice balance of flavours. The pine nuts on top were a nice touch. I’ve been looking for tasty no cholesterol recipes for my mother, so I’m leaving my rice cooker at her place for a while. We enjoyed this with Rita’s totally scrumptious Wild Mushroom Savory Sauté Wild Mushroom Savory Sauté, which is also reasonably low in fat and cholesterol. Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      This was just mediocre for me, although DD (toddler) gobbled hers up. I did our rice on the burner. I used brown lentils in place of green and they were still a little crunchy after the time was up but it was fine. I just found the sweetened dried cranberries not so tasty added while cooking as the texture went a bit funny and I didn't enjoy their taste as much as uncooked (blander). I also found the ginger taste a bit strong. I used white Basmati rice which I soaked a bit, sea salt for the salt, a bit more unrefined extra virgin olive oil, plus the rest of the ingredients, except for the optional scallion. I toasted my pine nuts in a dry frying pan. Served this rice with Baked Grated Beets and a fresh salad for a tasty vegetarian meal. Made for THINK PINK RECIPE TAG EVENT - OCTOBER 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice, Lentils and Dried Cranberries Garnished With Pine Nuts

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.5
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    15%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes