32 Reviews

If you don't want the cake type bottom layer, then use your favorite brownie recipe. This was a hit at bowling today. This is easy to assemble and has great results. We are adding this to our recipe collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kslighthouse_11535950 March 30, 2013

Phenominal! The bottom was a bit spongy and very chocolaty, the top was a rice krispy treat that was oh so yummy with the peanut butter! I am a teacher and made this for the teachers in the school...it was devoured! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe! xo LA :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A. Stewart November 05, 2010

very easy and good. I added a little sugar and cocoa to the bottom layer.
I also added some chocolate chips to the top layer after baking.

lots of compliments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlowens July 26, 2010

These are really good, especially the bottom layer - all wonderful ingredients together. I usually like things less sweet, but I agree with other reviewers - these actually weren't sweet enough for me. Someone suggested adding more sugar to the bottom layer, but I think adding sugar to the chocolate and peanut butter part would have more impact. We drizzled some caramel syrup on them to get them just right. I also took others' advice and added the third layer before it cooled. I used all the measurements in the recipe - did not double any of the layers as some people did. I agree that the bottom layer was quite thin to spread, but it did bake up fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 24, 2010

These were great! My son is allergic to peanuts so I used semi-sweet, butterscotch, and white chocolate chips for the topping and it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsBakesAlot January 23, 2010

This sounds delicious! Just what I've been looking for, but I wonder if something can be substituted for the peanut butter? I'm baking this for a group of kids and some of them can't eat peanut butter....anyone have any ideas? Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V-Love2Cook February 25, 2009

Wow, sweet and chocolately and good!!! I didn't make this, someone else did and brought it to a party and everyone was enjoying it a little too much. We all loved it. Some of us are on WW so we just had a small piece. Several ask for the recipe. thanks for posting....my husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 November 01, 2008

I, like one of the other members cheated and used boxed chocolate cake mix for the bottom. It turned out really well. I brought a plate of these to work and my co-workers gave me SO many compliments. :) Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redstars24 May 02, 2008

This was a wonderful treat! I cheated and used boxed milk chocolate cake mix for the bottom layer. It turned out great. I love the flavor of the peanut butter and chocolate topping. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia March 12, 2008

I thought the bottom layer was going to have the consistency of a brownie, but it was more like a nice delicate cake. I did not have vanilla, so I used some almond extract, it tasted like I added amaretto… ;-) Everyone really enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom October 13, 2007
Rice Krispies Chocolate Dream Bars