Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Flour Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Flour Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2011

      I don't get it. I don't understand the rave reviews of this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T, and ended up with a crepe-like, totally watery batter, even after letting it sit for 20 mins. to allow ample time for the liquid to absorb. The finished pancakes ended up as thin as crepes as well, with a completely un-pancake-like texture. To top it all off, they stuck to my oiled non-stick griddle. I don't think brand should have much to do with the lack of success, but I should mention that I used Bob's Red Mill rice flour, which works well in other recipes.

      I don't give up easily, so I decided to do a little experimenting, and embellished another batch. I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla and about 3 tblsp. of Honest Earth creamy mashed potatoes (gluten free, of course - nothing but potatoes, butter, salt), which thickened the batter nicely. What I ended up with was something rather unique and delightful. The texture strongly resembled that of traditional pancakes, albeit slightly heavier. They're a little on the crumbly side, which can be addressed by adding something like guar gum next time. They also had a lovely, slightly crispy outside. The batter can stand up well to additions like fruit chunks or chocolate chips, which sometimes sink to the bottom and burn.

      Bottom line: My vanilla and potato embellished recipe was a crowd pleaser, especially with the kids. We all ate fewer pancakes because they're more filling, which meant that we also consumed far less syrup - always a good thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      One of my daycare kids is on a wheat free diet at the moment so I needed something to feed him. I was honestly very nervous about using rice flour and if the kids would even eat it, but this recipe is awesome! They tast so much like my regular pancake recipe that I was thourouhly impressed. However I did make some slight changes as I used regular cow's milkand only had 2/3 cup of rice flour so I used that and halved the rest of the ingredients and they turned out fluffier than the original recipe. Also added some vanilla for some more flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      These worked well. DD1 (4 years old liked them). I used a little less than half brown rice flour and the rest white rice flour to be more healthy and give a nice flavour, I used 1 tsp organic apple cider vinegar at the last minute in the wet ingredients with some baking soda in the dried instead of baking powder, sea salt, 3.25% regular dairy milk as I had it on hand in a bit less amount because of other reviews, canola oil, plus the rest if the ingredients. I may make this again with a dairy free milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2014

      Did NOT like these -- it said it made up to 12, but I barely managed to scrape out 8, and I used a 1/4 measuring cup to spoon out the batter. Also, they practically cemented themselves to the frying pan. Bah. Hopefully with enough syrup we can get 'em down. This is the second time a rice flour pancake has failed on me. Better go back to almond flour...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      These turned out fabulous and were very fluffy. The only change I made was I substituted the oil with pumpkin. My kids enjoyed them too :) If your batter is too runny try adding a 1/4 tsp. xantham gum to it. You can get this at your local health food store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2014

      I tweaked this recipe , and it is now one of my favorites. Pancakes are fluffy , right consistency , and very tasteful! I used 3/4 cups of rice flour ,1/4 cup of coconut flour. Instead of sugar, I used 6 drops of vanilla stevia. I used Hemp milk , instead of the other milk. I added 1/2 cup blueberries! EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      Batter was incredibly liquid when I followed the recipe to a T. I did not want crepes, but pancakes, so I added 1/2 cup more flour until batter was normal consistency for pancakes, but then they ended up too dry. They looked good, but did not taste so great.<br/><br/>I would not make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      We saw a review that the recipe was a little runny and so we were careful when we added the liquids. It was a really good idea because after putitng in only half the liquid the cositency of the batter was perfect so we stopped there. We also added blueberries, but that was afterwards. They tasted like normal pancakes, but they were quite crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I have been Gluten Free for several years and was just recently diagnosed having an intolerance to oats, almonds, bananas, egg yolks, dairy and several more foods. Most gluten free Paleo pancake recipes contain at least one of these ingredients. When I found this recipe I was delighted! It was easy to use egg whites to equal 1 egg. I did whip the egg whites to make them frothy. I omitted the sugar and used 1/4 cup white rice flour and 3/4 cup brown rice flour. I found the pancakes quite delicious and very satisfying. Finding a recipe that works for me was a treasure! It is nice to be able to have pancakes again! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      To the original recipe, I added an additional 1/4 cup of milk,1 teaspoon of vanilla,and some cinnamon. These turned out a little too dry for us. However, they still tasted good and were eaten, so that makes me happy. Mother and kid approved. Will be trying this recipe again, with the addition of more liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      I am new to gluten free eating and cooking. This is the first gf recipe I've tried so I made it exactly as the recipe states, even though I thought it was way too much milk. The first few pancakes were super thin and tasteless. I had to tweak the recipe considerably (which is hilarious, since this is my first attempt and I have to fix the recipe) the pancakes were good after I fixed it. If this recipe as written is representative of gluten free food, I don't know if I can eat gluten free. If people that eat gluten free post recipes, they should make sure it is good and works as written, if I had been unable to fix the recipe it would have completely turned me off gluten free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      Okay. So I used Bob's brown rice flour, just ground flax seed for the egg, cane sugar, hemp milk, some Enjoy Life chocolate chips, a bit of rice bran, coconut oil, cinnamon, and baking powder. They turned out OK. Not fantastic, not even great. Why? They had cracks all over them and were especially dry, although I had continued to add water and hemp milk to gain the consistency I wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      My first attempt at these pancakes was my first attempt to make anything non-dairy wheat free since I learned of my food sensitivities. I also can't have dairy or egg, so I used coconut milk and the flax seed substitute for eggs. I read other's recommendations to add more rice flour, but I ended up needing to add another 1/2 cup of liquid to get the batter to the right consistency. Then the pancakes bubbled nicely on the griddle just like traditional pancakes. I added an additional 1/2 tsp of baking powder and cinnamon as well. I think they are pretty good! I'm excited to try them again with a few more adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      I thought these were great, especially for how simple they were. I have tried MANY different gluten/wheat free pancakes and they are typically more complicated. These were simple and great tasting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Perfect! So excited to have wheat free pancakes that taste delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      These came out great. I am new to gluten free diet because my husband is allergic to wheat. I have tried some of the gluten free mixes and they don't agree with me I think it's the xanthan gum and guar gums. This recipe is excellent. The recipe is similar to the one on the Goya rice flour bag. I used only 3/4 cup of milk and only 1 tsp of baking powder because I misread the ingredients but they came out great. I did let the batter sit for 10 min and notice the first pancakes were flat and the last pancakes where fluffier like regular pancakes. I will definetly make these again they are a bit drier maybe they did need the extra milk or next time I will exchange a few tablespoons of cornstarch or potato starch for the rice flour. Thanks Puglvr. Rice pancakes with No Gums!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      surprised how good these came out! we used organic 2% milk and coconut oil on pan, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. came out light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      I accidentally subbed the baking powder for baking soda, because I was in a hurry, and I thought it was worth mentioning that it had the complete opposite effect on the pancakes than people in earlier ratings were complaining about (that their pancakes were coming out too runny or too thin like crepes), the baking soda made the pancakes very dense. They were dry from too much baking soda, but perhaps in half the quantity it would make them more wholesome/rich in density. They weren't bad-just very thick, like bread. They flipped easily and cooked in seconds. I don't recommend anyone completly swapping them out for the same amount but maybe it might be worth looking into to play around with the quantity or even add both baking soda and baking powder in ratios-to experiment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I loved this recipe! Hard to find gluten free pastry/bread/pancakes. I've been eating gluten free for several years and am at the point where I prefer to make my own products rather than use mixes, primarily because I do better eating organic and most mixes are either gluten free or organic but not both. This recipe was quick, easy ( I used brown rice flour and cow's milk because thats what I had on hand) and tasted great.This will become my regular pancake mix from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      This is a great recipe. I am very new to cooking with wheat free flours. I read all the reviews and just changed it a little. I use 1 2/3 cup rice flour, 1 teaspoon of rice oil, 3 tablespoons of sugar and vanilla. The children and I loved it. Oh and as some said it didn't rise like normal picklets/pancakes I added and extra spoon of baking powder. They were perfect. Thank you for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Flour Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.1
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    17%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 653.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice milk

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes