41 Reviews

I don't get it. I don't understand the rave reviews of this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T, and ended up with a crepe-like, totally watery batter, even after letting it sit for 20 mins. to allow ample time for the liquid to absorb. The finished pancakes ended up as thin as crepes as well, with a completely un-pancake-like texture. To top it all off, they stuck to my oiled non-stick griddle. I don't think brand should have much to do with the lack of success, but I should mention that I used Bob's Red Mill rice flour, which works well in other recipes.

I don't give up easily, so I decided to do a little experimenting, and embellished another batch. I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla and about 3 tblsp. of Honest Earth creamy mashed potatoes (gluten free, of course - nothing but potatoes, butter, salt), which thickened the batter nicely. What I ended up with was something rather unique and delightful. The texture strongly resembled that of traditional pancakes, albeit slightly heavier. They're a little on the crumbly side, which can be addressed by adding something like guar gum next time. They also had a lovely, slightly crispy outside. The batter can stand up well to additions like fruit chunks or chocolate chips, which sometimes sink to the bottom and burn.

Bottom line: My vanilla and potato embellished recipe was a crowd pleaser, especially with the kids. We all ate fewer pancakes because they're more filling, which meant that we also consumed far less syrup - always a good thing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N N N June 25, 2011

I tweaked this recipe , and it is now one of my favorites. Pancakes are fluffy , right consistency , and very tasteful! I used 3/4 cups of rice flour ,1/4 cup of coconut flour. Instead of sugar, I used 6 drops of vanilla stevia. I used Hemp milk , instead of the other milk. I added 1/2 cup blueberries! EXCELLENT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootbanana October 18, 2014

One of my daycare kids is on a wheat free diet at the moment so I needed something to feed him. I was honestly very nervous about using rice flour and if the kids would even eat it, but this recipe is awesome! They tast so much like my regular pancake recipe that I was thourouhly impressed. However I did make some slight changes as I used regular cow's milkand only had 2/3 cup of rice flour so I used that and halved the rest of the ingredients and they turned out fluffier than the original recipe. Also added some vanilla for some more flavour.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabby81 July 15, 2010

I googled Rice Flour pancakes and this is the first recipe that came up. I had to use maple sugar instead of sugar, I added cheddar cheese and blueberries and I thought these pancakes turned out great. I used cooking spray instead of oil, a personal preference. Who thought Gluten-free could taste so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Lee O. August 22, 2015

These worked well. DD1 (4 years old liked them). I used a little less than half brown rice flour and the rest white rice flour to be more healthy and give a nice flavour, I used 1 tsp organic apple cider vinegar at the last minute in the wet ingredients with some baking soda in the dried instead of baking powder, sea salt, 3.25% regular dairy milk as I had it on hand in a bit less amount because of other reviews, canola oil, plus the rest if the ingredients. I may make this again with a dairy free milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 14, 2012

I attempted these for my family today and after putting it all together, the batter decided it needed one more thing to be included- THE PAN. These babies STICK like super glue. I used a range of heats, oils, and different pans (cast iron and multi-layer stainless steel). We ended up calling them Pan-scramble as they were in NO WAY pancakes. Unsure on issue, but we ate and were sort of pleased.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliane B. Femenella November 28, 2015

Very yummy.. My husband liked them, said they taste like regular pancakes. I will be making these on a regular basis. I used Bobs red mill, whole grain brown rice flour and regular milk and for oil I used coconut oil. I used the same portions as the recipe. Very easy to make and the taste is amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindy_19823 August 10, 2015

Anyone who is on a gluten free diet knows those ingredients are NOT cheap. I was so tired of trying online recipes for GF pancakes and getting a horrible results, only to throw about $5 in the trash. That said, this recipe is my savior!! I followed it to a T, following other reviewers suggestions to cut down milk to about 3/4c but I also added 1 heaping tablespoon of Greek yogurt to help thicken (I was using skim milk). LOVELY!. DELICIOUS! Just like a normal wheat flour pancake. FYI - I used Bobs Red Mill White Rice Flour. I let the pan heat while I mixed everything and that worked out great. No need to let the batter sit any. I drizzled a little oil before dishing out the batter into the pan and I got a crispy outside a la flour pancakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elmgregg July 25, 2015

Loved this recipe. Made little tweaks as I'm on a high protein diet so added more egg whites to make a slightly thinner mix. Will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joe C. July 12, 2015

I follow the directions to a T only thing I changed was, I used oat milk delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
egpbx June 08, 2015
Rice Flour Pancakes