Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Flour Banana Bread (Wheat Free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Flour Banana Bread (Wheat Free)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2011

      Excellent, simple recipe, and every bit as good as traditional wheat flour loaf breads. Unlike some gluten free recipes, this one has the same texture everyone's familiar with. It's basically non-discernable; your guests won't even know the difference.

      Coconut lends a tropical flavor, and adds a level of complexity not found in the usual ho-hum recipes. I'm thinking about adding a little crushed pineaple next time - well drained, of course.

      All too often, gluten free recipes require tons of specialty ingredients; this one doesn't. I made due with what I had. I adapted the recipe by adding 1/3 cup chopped walnuts, and made 2 substitutions: vanilla extract instead of lemon extract, and greek-style yogurt mixed with a couple tablespoons of water instead of buttermilk.

      Don't underestimate the importance of baking the batter in 2 pans. If you don't, the end product will be considerably more dense.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Delicious! I made this tonight for my two kids that are gluten free. I had to alter it a little according to what I had in the cupboard. I omitted the coconut since I didn't have any, used butter flavoring instead of lemon extract, added an extra overly ripe banana and used a round cake pan instead of a bread pan. My family loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      This is delicious! I used lemon peel because I didn't have lemon extract. Also, I baked it in an 8 x 4 loaf pan. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      amazingly easy and really good gluten free recipe! I had no buttermilk so i used yogurt (as another did) and it worked well. added some walnuts. <br/><br/>thanks again for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      This is excellent!
      My only complaint is that the banana flavor was weaker than some banana breads, but I think it's because I left out the lemon extract and coconut. I used frozen bananas and the texture was fine. I also added dark chocolate chips, which worked very very well. Next time, I'll add extra banana chunks as well, and maybe a little psyllium fiber for moisture. And there WILL be a next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Really delicious bread! I bake a lot of quick bread, and this may be the best gluten free recipe I have tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I made this for some gluten free relatives (nieces and nephews) and the loved it. I did not use the coconut but used 1 and 1/2 cups bananas. I used the small loaf pans and it made three loaves. It was suprisingly moist since most rice flour breads tend to be a little dry. This one is a keeper. I will make for them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      AWESOME! my husband didn't even reognize the difference between this and my riginal bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      We loved this even more than normal banana bread. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      OH MY GOODNESS!! This bread is fantastic! It's better than my traditional banana bread recipe. It's moist and doesn't taste "gluten-free". You'd never know the difference. I loooove the addition of lemon extract and coconut, they give it a tropical flavor. I baked this bread in a 9x5 pan for 50 minutes and it was perfect! Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      My family was very surprised that this made with rice flour. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      I served this bread at a dinner party to a guest who is wheat-sensitive. He loved it and so did the other ten guests. Surprisingly, it wasn't crumbly maybe because I used frozen bananas rather than fresh ones. Next time I'll try vanilla extract instead of the lemon which was a little bitter. Thanks for a real winner. It's always hard to find good gluten-free bread and cake recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      we also loved it, the flavor is so good! instead of lemon extract, i used the zest of a half of a lemon. i tried to counteract the crumbliness by baking at 400 for about 40 minutes. it kind of worked. next time i would add more oil to try to get it less crumbly. this made a beeeaaautiful loaf and i was so pleased to see a gf recipe without one million types of flours and gums!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      I made little muffins out of these (but can't remember how long they took to bake--sorry). They were light and tasty. I substituted plain lowfat yogurt for the buttermilk and didn't have lemon extract, so I just used a couple teaspoons of lemon juice. I really liked the addition of the coconut (though I burned a batch trying to toast it. :)) Thanks for posting! LATER: I made this again yesterday as a loaf. I 1 1/2ed the recipe to fit a 9x5 pan and it fit perfectly. the taste was amazing, but for some reason it turned out a little more crumbly this time. I think I baked it for 60 minutes... not too much longer than the mini loaf pan! Thanks again.. my husband is requesting that I make this again soon. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Flour Banana Bread (Wheat Free)

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.4
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    39%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 53.6 mg
    17%
    Sodium 294.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites