15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent, simple recipe, and every bit as good as traditional wheat flour loaf breads. Unlike some gluten free recipes, this one has the same texture everyone's familiar with. It's basically non-discernable; your guests won't even know the difference.

Coconut lends a tropical flavor, and adds a level of complexity not found in the usual ho-hum recipes. I'm thinking about adding a little crushed pineaple next time - well drained, of course.

All too often, gluten free recipes require tons of specialty ingredients; this one doesn't. I made due with what I had. I adapted the recipe by adding 1/3 cup chopped walnuts, and made 2 substitutions: vanilla extract instead of lemon extract, and greek-style yogurt mixed with a couple tablespoons of water instead of buttermilk.

Don't underestimate the importance of baking the batter in 2 pans. If you don't, the end product will be considerably more dense.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N N N July 17, 2011

Delicious! I made this tonight for my two kids that are gluten free. I had to alter it a little according to what I had in the cupboard. I omitted the coconut since I didn't have any, used butter flavoring instead of lemon extract, added an extra overly ripe banana and used a round cake pan instead of a bread pan. My family loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pistonsfan75 May 22, 2012

This is delicious! I used lemon peel because I didn't have lemon extract. Also, I baked it in an 8 x 4 loaf pan. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc April 21, 2012

Great recipe! I used ginger instead of lemon and it's amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 17, 2015

amazingly easy and really good gluten free recipe! I had no buttermilk so i used yogurt (as another did) and it worked well. added some walnuts. <br/><br/>thanks again for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jokyface August 12, 2013

This is excellent!
My only complaint is that the banana flavor was weaker than some banana breads, but I think it's because I left out the lemon extract and coconut. I used frozen bananas and the texture was fine. I also added dark chocolate chips, which worked very very well. Next time, I'll add extra banana chunks as well, and maybe a little psyllium fiber for moisture. And there WILL be a next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tatooinedweller January 27, 2013

Really delicious bread! I bake a lot of quick bread, and this may be the best gluten free recipe I have tried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KBHanson September 21, 2010

I made this for some gluten free relatives (nieces and nephews) and the loved it. I did not use the coconut but used 1 and 1/2 cups bananas. I used the small loaf pans and it made three loaves. It was suprisingly moist since most rice flour breads tend to be a little dry. This one is a keeper. I will make for them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb4178 July 29, 2009

AWESOME! my husband didn't even reognize the difference between this and my riginal bread recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilydwen June 26, 2009

We loved this even more than normal banana bread. Thanks so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Thyme Flour June 20, 2009
Rice Flour Banana Bread (Wheat Free)