Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Custard

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2011

      Made this for dinner last night and was so pleased at how easy it went together, think I overcooked it (was worried about it being firm) as it was a little dry, but that was my fault and didn't change the taste. I did not use the raisens as I don't care for them, did top with whipped cream. Both DH and I enjoyed it very much. Made for the photo forum - Comfort foods.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      We loved this. Great flavor and easy to make. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      I made this last night for dinner. It was quick and easy to make and took around 40 minutes to bake in an 8 in by 8in square dish. I used cranberries instead of the raisins-they looked so pretty when the dish was served. This was just nicely sweet, but all four of us agreed it had way to much rice in it compared to custard-I would halve the amount of cooked rice next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      I cannot begin to describe the level of pure creamy comfort this afforded us as the snow was piling up around us last night. Perfectly sweet and lovely with added warmth from the nutmeg. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This was so easy and so delicious. I accidentally only used 2 cups of milk instead of 3, but it still turned out great, just a little drier. I would like to make it again with the 3 cups so I can enjoy it in a more custardy style. Topped with homemade whipped cream and it was perfect. I cooked mine in an 8" square pan and it took 40 minutes to cook through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Well,my grandma didn't make this for me and what did I miss! Made it with raisins and some vanilla extract. It's perfect for my little girls:has carbs, proteins, calcium. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      This is a good recipe, but still not like the one my grandma used to make...wish I had hers. The only thing I found overpowering was the nutmeg, I think I will cut it back a little next time. I think I will try using dried cranberries in place of the raisins too... just a personal preference. Made for the Dec. 09 Tag My Recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Yummy! I loved that there was a lovely custard layer on top. The only change I would make would be to add a little vanilla. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Pure comfort food! This is the type of rice pudding I grew up with. My grandmother made it often. I much prefer this custard-type to the ones made without eggs! I left the raisins out. The amount of nutmeg was perfect! I did have to cook it about 10 minutes longer than stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Very good rice pudding. I made this for our Sunday Mother's Day Brunch, as my DM loves rice pudding. I didn't add the raisins either(personal preference) I did however add about 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. Also, because my oven sometimes runs hot when cooking puddings, I decided to cook my pudding in a water bath which allowed for a creamy and delicious dessert! Thanks Pat! I will be making this often! Made for Potluck Tag May 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      The 4 stars was DH's rating. I made this with whole milk and sugar for him Thinking that he would be nuts for it. It wasn't rice "pudding" and he thought that while it tasted good it was "dry" and not sweet enough. It wasn't dry at all (I did use more rice than ask for because there wasn't enough to save) but sometimes I try something I think he'll love and forget that I should never change something from his standard same old thing in any way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Very nice dessert. I used vanilla almond milk, which worked just fine. It was very pretty too! Made for Make My Recipe Sept 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Awesome custard Chef Potts. I love rice pudding as well so this was best of both worlds-custard and rice. I didn't add raisins and used 2% milk. I didn't have any cream to top it with but I didn't miss it at all. DH thought this was one of the best he has ever had as well. Thanks so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Yum, just like mum used to make, I used only 2 cups milk for a more rice less custard pudding, tastes delish, a keeper, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Real comfort food. Just like my mother used to make many years ago. I left out the raisins but did dot with a litle butter prior to baking as mother always did. Thanks for posting this easy to make 'keeper' :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      A lovely treat for this custard-lover! DH & I are NY resolved to reduce our dessert treats, so I made a 1/3 recipe to get 2 servings, but got an extra using my ramekins. I did add a sml amt of vanilla extract & used the optional raisins that I plumped in water & then squeezed to remove all excess moisture. I will prob leave them out or reduce the amt next time as I found they tended to mask the flavor of the custard. I was a little surprised to see no water bath used for baking & was glad when all worked well. This could not be easier to make, & I wonder if Splenda could be used? Pls see my rating system. This is a very worthy 4*. Thx for posting this recipe for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.3
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    24%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 110.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 95.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites