Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Cooker Tapioca Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Cooker Tapioca Pudding

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2012

      First of all your rice cooked must have a porridge setting or you will have problems. The porridge setting has a lower temp and keeps your milk from burning.
      Tapioca pearls can be found at Asian food markets for about $1.50 a 16oz bag.
      You can use coconut milk, rice milk, or whatever other milk..powdered etc.
      I recommend you open the lid and stir 2 or 3 times while it's cooking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I made this 3 times and it came out amazingly perfect each time. I used sweetened vanilla almond milk the first time and omitted the sugar. Absolutely fantastic, but not too sweet so added 1/4 C sugar the second time with half milk and half almond milk. Once again perfect. I used the porridge cycle and stirred every 15 min. The second time I added 2T of butter in the beginning and it seemed a tad richer. I am now making it with lowfat milk and I believe it will turn out perfect too. I have a Sanyo rice cooker with fuzzy logic so perhaps that makes a difference? I will probably make this weekly because it is so simple... :) I love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      Sad you can't rate this with a - star count...I have been cooking personally and professionally for 40 years, I saw this recipe and thought..."Oh why not" I might as well give it a try. My rice cooker is small, and has no additional settings, but I thought I would give it a go anyway. Holeee... after about 10 minutes the cooker turned off and what was left in the cooker was a congealed, overly sweet, burnt mess... with uncooked tapioca floating in it. It looked like a bad egg flower soup... so I started over on the stove as normal with 1/2 the sugar and 2 egg yolks, (no egg whites) stirring constantly for 30 minutes and came out with a perfect tapioca. This recipe should have warned, if you do not have a porridge setting on your rice cooker (I have never seen one) do not use this method. Thanks for teaching an old dog new tricks are lame. I cannot imagine eating this c%@p myself, much less feeding it to anyone I love... ugh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I tried this recipe 4 times. All 4 times it burned eventhough I stirred it often. I cut the sugar in half because it was too sweet. 3 of the times I made it it boiled over, all over my kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I ended up with hard tapioca and burnt milk. I followed the directions, I guess it just didn't work for my rice cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      This was a flop. The time I spent cleaning up my rice cooker I could have made it the old fashion, tried and true way. I really wanted this to work too. So next time it is the old saucepan and patience. I gave it two stars because you have good taste with these ingredients regardless. Oh, and it did burn on the bottom, didn't stick because I had read the reviews and sprayed the pan with cooking spray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      This is a good recipe whose only flaw is that I think it depends on the sort of rice cooker you are using. Mine also got stuck to the bottom (but I took care to stir it a lot so it wasn't an issue), and the egg seemed to cook a bit prematurely judging by the texture of it - it does not have a smooth consistency. I've never had tapioca pudding before so I don't know if that's normal. The tapioca is not cooked in the middle (I think this is also a rice cooker getting too hot problem). The sugar was a bit too much for me also but I did use caster - next time I'll probably halve it. That being said, the final result is tasty! It almost doesn't need any flavouring - I had no vanilla so I put in two cardamom pods and some cinnamon bark instead. All in all it's a good recipe, but you will need to tweak it according to your rice cooker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      This was wonderful! Tapioca Pudding is my dh's favorite and I never make it. This was so easy and worked out perfect for us! However I was wondering if it was possible to double or even triple this recipe and how it would work in the rice cooker. We will be having this often--as it is so good and so easy and it's also great to have another way to use the rice cooker. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      I really really wanted this to work because it was so easy, but either my rice cooker is lame or the recipe is flawed. It was edible, but the tapioca was still hard in the center and the pudding partially burned/stuck to the bottom. My husband actually liked the burnt bits because he said it tasted carmelized. It was also very liquidy until I refrigerated it and it thickened somewhat. I might experiment with this again, perhaps adding water and cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Cooker Tapioca Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.3
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    23%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 84.7 mg
    28%
    Sodium 155.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 33.8 g
    135%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites