Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Cooker Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Cooker Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2010

      I've made this at least 5 times now.. what a great easy go to recipe.. with a great taste!! I would have never have thought I could cook rice pilaf in the rice cooker.. but this recipe proves that its most possible. Only thing I changed on the last couple of times is that I added more garlic (we love garlic in this house) .. you cannot go wrong with this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This worked great for us. Only change I made was sub'd chopped red bell peppers for the almonds. After the onion & garlic was done cooking, I stirred in the other vegys & turned off the burner till I was ready to mix into the rice cooker. The mushrooms & peppers were the right consistency for us. You're right the bottom does get brown, if you don't like it crusty you may want to stir 1-2 times during cooking. Awesome recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      What a great recipe! Went well with the Hawaiian meatball recipe I found on Zaar :) Would make again for sure. I love findings ways to add veggies in to other parts of the meal! Next time I would probably add even more onion, a chicken bouillon cube, a saute the mushrooms (canned) with the onions & garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Over all we really enjoyed it. I think I too will boost the garlic and maybe switch to shallots in stead of regular onions and maybesome S&P to mushrooms as they saute. Love the easy of the rice cooker (my fave new toy):) Thank you for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      We really enjoyed this recipe. I sauteed the mushrooms along with the onion. I also added a splash of soya sauce. Simple and delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I made this in the rice cooker as directed but it did come ouy a bit dry-next time i will add a little more liquid-otherwise the taste is GREAT! Thanks for the yummy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      This is a fabulous rice dish! I didn't have mushrooms - no big loss but feel sure it's a smidge better to include. After the onion and garlic were sauteed, I put the rice in the pan with the two ingredients for a minute or so then added all to my rice cooker with at least 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth - delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Very good. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This was so easy to make!! I made it with chicken breast tenderloins in the steamer basket, sprinkled with oregano & Basil, and the pilaf in the pot. All was done at the same time, and my family LOVED it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Great rice! I only use my rice cooker to cook plain old rice and would cook all my flavored rice on the stovetop. This was way easier. Used a shallot instead of the onion, no almonds and reduced the amount of stock (I like my rice fluffy). Sauteed everything before throwing it into the rice pot and added a handful of chopped baby spinach. I like to use the rice paddle to fluff the rice up once it's done. It helps to get out the excess moisture. When it was time to eat I mixed in some fresh parsley. Delicious!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Loved this!! I used a combination of white button and baby bella mushrooms. Served this as a side dish to Pork Chops Yum-Yum (Pork Chops Yum-Yum) and it was great with the pork chop sauce. We all loved the almonds. I will make this often and the only change I'll make is to add more mushrooms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This turned out wonderful. I sauteed the mushrooms along with the onions and garlic. I also did as another reviewer suggested and stirred once while it was cooking to prevent too brown of a bottom. It was wonderful! I served it with lemon teriyaki chicken and ate it again tonight with lemon herb chicken. I did omit the sliced almond because i didn't have any. But it was still wonderful. This will definitely be part of the rotation because someone can only eat white rice so many times until its time for something new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Excellent Recipe- -I started making it and found that my mushrooms had gone bad, oh well! It was still good. The sautee and simmer feature on my rice maker made it even easier since there was no stove clean-up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Great recipe! I just bought a rice cooker and the rice turned out delicious. This actually made enough for two meals. Flavor was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      Yummy! Love finding new dishes to make in my rice cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Strawberrybird, I selected your recipe as the first to try out my new rice cooker. It was a total success!! I am so very pleased! The quality of the rice and the flavor were perfection : ) Thank you so much for supplying me with the right recipe to test out my newest kitchen toy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      This very well-written recipe was delicious! I made it exactly as written and everything turned out just the way StrawberryBird said....including the garlic scorching a bit! We had this with roasted pheasant and asparagus and it was just great. I love my rice cooker too and am glad to have another recipe to play around with for it. Thanks for submitting this StrawberryBird, it's a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Got a new rice cooker so tried out your recipe and it's very good. I didn't saute the onions and garlic first, just threw them in because the booklet said it would take 20 minutes to cook that much rice so I figured they'd be cooked in that time and they were. I'll be making this recipe quite often now that I found it's so easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I tweaked the recipe a bit....I used mushrooms and broccoli instead of the onions and almonds. Everything was tossed into the rice cooker as I was headed out the door to the gym and it was all ready when I got home! I stirred the browned bits on the bottom into the pilaf and it added lots of flavor. My husband really likes rice and declared this one a definite winner. Once again...quick, easy and I can control the sodium and fat. What's not to love?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      I used jasmine rice to make this and we loved it. It was so easy and yielded so much more flavor than plain rice and way less salt than boxed rice mixes. I used extra garlic and a bit of lemon zest. Next time, I might try brown rice, as I think it would be an even bigger improvement to plain brown rice, but it was great as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Cooker Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.5
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    16%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 267.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites