Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Cooker Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Cooker Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2009

      I used this recipe to inaugurate my 5 cup rice cooker. Cooking time was 40 minutes. Five stars (*****) to this recipe for ease of preparation. I added the optional mushrooms, used kielbasa not shrimp, red bell pepper instead of green, and precooked the veggies and kielbasa in butter with fresh ground pepper. I drained my diced tomatoes to prevent mushiness, and scaled back the amount of rice so that it would fit in my cooker. I used 1 cup of Basmati long grain white rice, and one can of chicken broth. Before adding the broth I mixed in a healthy squirt (5 seconds long from the big bottle) of Sri Racha hot sauce because I don't have cayenne pepper, and I use Sri Racha on everything. I used the recipe's given amounts of veggies and kielbasa, and it fit perfectly in my cooker. I rated this recipe four stars because I felt it was missing a little bit of flavor. I have never made Jambalaya before. Next time I make it (in my rice cooker!) I will investigate and add more seasonings to it. The kielbasa was the most prominent flavor in the dish, which is okay, but the rice component was a tad bland. Could have used more Sri Racha too. >:-) Otherwise, the dish was fantastic. The rice cooked perfectly, and there was only a small layer at the bottom of the cooker that turned a little brown. I mixed it into the rest of the dish and it tastes just fine. Very good vegetable to rice ratio (I like it high) in my modified recipe for a balanced one-pot meal. I had enough for three generously portioned meals. Substitutions: Sri Racha for cayenne pepper Red bell pepper for green bell pepper Modifications: Less rice Less chicken broth Drained tomatoes Next time: Add more seasonings

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      We all loved this tasty dish which was easy once you got all the tidbits into the rice cooker. I especially liked the fact that I didn't have to "babysit" it once the rice was added. Made for PAC 2007. Thanks for posting this strawberrybird. (: Photo to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Very easy to make, I liked it, but the rest of the family really didn't care for it. The texture of the rice was somewhat mushy. Perhaps my rice cooker or the type of rice I used

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Very good, and very easy to prepare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      Doubled the recipe in my 10 cup rice cooker so I would have leftovers - couldn't have fit any more - it cooked to about an inch from the top. This was my first attempt at cooking more than just plain rice in the cooker and it worked out very well. I used chorizo instead of kielbasa, and red pepper instead of green, and somewhere between 1/2 - 1 tsp of cayenne. It was not very hot, just flavourful, with the heat coming primarily from the chorizo. Looking forward to leftovers for lunch! Thanks for the great recipe, strawberrybird.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I picked up a six cup Aroma rice cooker from T*** today ($18.00) and used this recipe to break it in. I deviated just a little by using the pre-diced pepper & onion containers instead of cutting them myself. I also used the original Rotel brand diced tomatoes. My little cooker was filled to the top so I ended up setting it on a plate to catch a little spill over. This made enough for two people to enjoy multiple servings and even a full bowl leftover.
      I loved the texture and flavor of the dish. My spouse had multiple bowls and raved about it! This sold me on rice cookers and this recipe!
      I%u2019ll make this again soon and will probably try the shrimp version in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      I give this 3 1/2 stars. This took 40 minutes in my Aroma rice cooker. I opted for half the stated cayenne and added a little black pepper. (less spicy for the kids) Tasted it before I turned the cooker on and felt it needed some additional spices for more depth and went with 1 teaspoon thyme, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, pinch of allspice, and a bay leaf. Sauteed the meat with the veggies (plus some celery) before adding. Rice turned out a little mushy but could be a good trade if you don't want to watch a pot on the stove. I feel I need to experiment a bit more with this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Cooker Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.3
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    33%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 42.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1099.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cayenne pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes