25 Reviews

Yum! This is a great way to sneak in veggies for your kids. I used the rice cooker measuring cup for the rice, did not use bacon and added an extra cup of veggies. Next time I will try adding chicken for a complete meal.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mndlinn February 25, 2010

Very good! I left out the bacon, and measured the rice in the cup that came with the cooker, but used a regular measuring cup for the broth. I used chicken broth because I already had some opened in the frig. I also used Seasame oil. Going to try it with some chicken next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emfranklin December 31, 2009

This was tasty, but I trusted the recipe, and I probably shouldn't have. The cups of rice listed should probably be the measuring cup that came with my rice cooker, not an actual measuring cup; while the cups for the beef stock probably is an actual measuring cup. I used short grain rice, hoping it would cook appropriately, but it was still crunchy after the first pass. While I loved the convenience (and smell) of cooking the bacon and onions and garlic in my rice cooker, it didn't really work very well. I would probably go ahead and saute in a frying pan first and then put it in my rice cooker. The flavor was kind of bland, also. All of that aside, I think this is a great idea and I will probably play around until we find something that works for our family. Thank you for posting! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout January 31, 2009

I've made this a few times now and love it. My friend can't tolerate fat so I made it without the oil and bacon and it still tasted fantastic. You definitely need to use rice cooker cups for the rice and regular cups for the stock. Try using stirfry veges it works really well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beckstar08 May 29, 2010

I have no idea how 2 cups of liquid is supposed to cook 2 cups of rice in the rice cooker...I went against my better judgement and followed the recipe, but had to run the rice cooker through many cycles and add tons more water to try to salvage this, and it still came out crunchy. Did I miss something?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear September 06, 2008

I love using my rice cookers and this recipe is proof that you can do so much more than just plain rice. I had frozen peas and carrots so that's what I used. I would think almost any mixed, frozen vegetables would be good. I also doubled the amount of soy sauce. I really, really like soy sauce. I served this with teriyaki grilled chicken and it was a delicious meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Pinch of This ... August 20, 2012

Delicious! I did not have any bacon or peas so added 1/2 teasp of liquid smoke and a stalk of chopped celery. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms.susan October 06, 2010

This was a great method for fried rice. This was the third recipe for fried rice I have tried and the only one that has really turned out well. I used chicken stock since that is what I had on hand, and omitted the bacon. I added a couple of eggs and some leftover beef and it tasted great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ActivelyWaiting June 17, 2009

I'm not sure if it was the rice cooker method or if it was incorrect measurement but 2 cups of beef broth wasn't enough to cook the rice through. It needed longer to cook and more liquid. When I first tasted it, the flavor wasn't good until adding the soy sauce which gave it a little more kick except my husband liked it better without the soy sauce. My almost three year old loved it. Next time I'll follow instructions by the rice cooker and maybe coat the rice in oil before hand in a skillet to see if that helps the rice cooker method work better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#712893 ChefMom April 13, 2009

I thought the flavor of this got three stars but the easy method and ingenius use of a rice cooker gets five stars so I compromised at four. (My kids would've given it 30 stars though, so what do I know.) It's not as good as the stuff that takes 30+ minutes to make on the stove but it will more than suffice when you don't have the time or energy to cook. I used garlic olive oil to saute my onions on the stove (my rice cooker doesn't work with the lid up) and added corn. Next time I'd like to add some green onions and maybe minced ginger to give more of a fried rice flavor. No doubt this will be used again my next lazy day! Served with Sticken Chicken and Spinach Saute With Brown Butter & Garlic

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy August 19, 2008
Rice Cooker Fried Rice