Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice Chile Verde Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice Chile Verde

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2011

      This isn't fancy or very photogenic, but boy is it delicious! I made a half recipe with a whole can of chilies. I made the rice the night before and it measured out 1 1/2 cups, but after chilling it must have shrunk because as I scooped out 1/2 cups to make the 3 layers there was only enough to make 2 layers. It didn't matter, I just added the goop on top of the rice and topped with cheese. Super easy, super tasty! Made for Please Review My Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was great! I hate to tell you, but I butchered the heck out of the recipe. Instead of chiles I used Rotel tomatoes w/ chiles. Then, after that, I used mexican shredded cheese blend for the cheese. I was just trying to use items up that I had on hand. I will definately be making this again- the way it's posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Good Heavens lady we NEEEEEEED you back at the library...I miss you very much, and EVERYONE misses this dish. This is probably the most terrible thing you can do to your waist, and simultaneously the MOST AWESOME rapture your tongue can handle without going numb! Isn't that always the way. Engrossed you sooo ROCK!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Wow! This was fantastic! I absolutely love chilis rellanos and the taste was almost identical. I don't dare make this very often, tho', as it is extemely rich. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Ok, first let me say this was WONDERFUL! I absolutely loved the flavor. I did do some things you said not to though, sorry! I used low fat sour cream, but I never eat regular sour cream, so I am used to the taste/texture. So for people who regularly use low fat sour cream, I don't think it will be a problem. I am sure it would be better with the full fat sour cream (isn't everything?) I don't eat it though. I did use regular cheese. I LOVE green chiles so I used about 2 and a half times the amount called for. I also had to mix it all together because I cut the recipe down to only 3 servings and did not have a baking dish small enough to allow me to layer it correctly. So I pretty much did everything you said not to, and I still loved it. Will definitely try the layering next time I make a full batch. I will also take this to my next potluck using full fat sour cream : ) Thanks for this, I will certainly make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

    • on March 09, 2008

      This rice is so tasty. We recently had a large gathering at our house and had several guests asked for the recipe. I did double the recipe and cooked it in the crockpot as suggested. I used the hot ortega chilis as we like a spice and was not disappointed. Thanks so much for a great quick sidedish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This was terrific, i used low fat sour cream as well. It scaled down to 2 portions very well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Very yummy and easy. I added more chilis and topped it with even more chilis after it cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      This is a very comforting dish! I liked your photo, so I baked part of our rice in blanched peppers. It was so good! I did sub. light sour cream; after baking it kind of looked curdled. But it tasted great! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This was delicious and went well with our mexican meal. I had quite a bit of the sour cream sauce left over so not sure if I did something wrong. The flavor was excellent. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I was tempted to mix everything together but so happy I didnt. This rice is very good and next time I will add a bit more of the mild green chilies. The cheese melts nicely between the layers and the rice is creamy and wonderful. Thank you Engrossed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Great!! We loved this rice! It was perfect with the SouthWest flavors, but not to spicy for my DH. Thanks Engrossed, this is a keeper for us! WILL make this again,and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I made this for a potluck and it was excellent! Everyone wanted the recipe!!! Hmmm, might keep it to myself, but they know where my recipes are, so they might figure it out ;) very nice. I made it in mini loaf pans and it made a beautiful presentation on a platter! Awesome dish..Thanks for another *keeper* Engrossed! ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I used this as a side to a new chili recipe I was trying and it worked great! (It's very similar to my hominy recipe, which I love.) I doubled the chilies and used a full pound of monterey jack. Creamy, cheesy goodness! :) Thanks for a great recipe, Engrossed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I didn't have much time to put dinner together last night, and this recipe really came to the rescue. I cooked my rice in the microwave (Mirj's Foolproof Microwave Rice - Perfect Every Time!) and then made two versions of this, with chili peppers for Sushiman and myself, and without for the kids (I hate that the kids are so picky). I didn't use canned chilis, I used some fresh Moroccan hot peppers insread. I don't know how the kids' version tasted, but based on the fact that it's all gone now, I suppose it was a success. I can tell you that my version had a great kick to it and was more deserving that the 5 stars I'm giving it. I made mine in the oven, not in the crock, it had a lovely, cheesy crust on top, which we fought over. I'm glad I tagged this recipe, Engrossed, it's a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      This a wonderful side dish that my family has made often. However, I lost the recipe and my "guess work" never yielded what I was looking for. Thanks Engrossed for posting! We doubled the chilies and almost doubled the jack cheese. Plus, we topped it with shredded cheddar for more visual appeal. My mom used to sprinkle with paprika - the '50s answer to any plain looking dish! I am going to make this and pack it in mini-muffin tins and see if it will make good finger food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      I loved this rice! I halved the recipe and used 2 mini loaf pans.I doubled the amount of chiles and was glad I did. It reminded me of the flavors in chile rellenos. I'll definately be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This was amazing....I was in two minds about trying it, partly coz I dont really like chilli, but DH loves it, so I made it for him to accompany a spicy prawn curry......well, we are hooked!! I could make it for him Every Night! I didnt make the night before, but will try that another time, but, wow, what a winner!! Unusual, tasty, and very easy. Will make for friends, I know everyone is going to say, OMG!!!! Thats if DH lets me make it for friends....he wont want to give it away!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving. Every body had to bring a dish and I brought this. I did everything except put it in the oven. I put it in the crockpot the whole time. I think it was too much rice. I believe it feeds more than twelve people, more like twenty. I thought it turn out O.k. but it was not ooey gooey cheesy, it might have been because I put it in the crockpot only.It did look like the picture. I will make it again but not three cup of rice next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice Chile Verde

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.2
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    58%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 38.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 324.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites