35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

misfit, I enjoyed this casserole, although I used just a little bit more rice. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 13, 2002

This was really good. I took hints from some of the other reviews, I boosted the rice to two cups, I sautee'd the onion with a quarter cup chopped red pepper before I added it to the mix, and I undercooked my rice just a smidge. I used a med. head of fresh broccoli, blanched it for three minutes then sent it into ice water to keep the color. I didn't measure the cheese, just added three thick slices of velveeta off the block. I used one soup can full of skim milk,stirred all the sauce ingredients together over low heat until creamy, then added the rest of the ingedients, also as some others suggested I added a little more then a cup of some leftover smoked turkey breast. Turned it all into the baking dish and it came out simply lovely! Cheesy and rich. I'll add this one to the rotation, thanks!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat October 25, 2010

This is almost exactly like my moms recipe. I use 1 C extra rice as well. I also warm the soup, milk, and velvetta on the stove so its nice and melted and blended before putting it in the casserole. I precook the broccoli in the microwave and then chopp it up finner (personal preferance). Then I also like to add cooked cubed chicken breast to make it a main dish. One of my favorite meals!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kansashortcake May 13, 2010

I, too, made a couple of changes that I believe make a big difference. I used extra rice as well. I used cheese whiz instead of velvetta, because you can actually combine the soup and cheese and get a better flavor. I also do not precook my broccoli. Just let set out on the counter for a few minutes (maybe 5-10) and throw it in. I either precook the onion or just leave it out. For those that want to kick up a notch, add a tablespoon of your fav. salsa. One last hint:I slightly undercook my rice, so it's not mushy when this cooks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoonerMama69 July 24, 2009

This is sooo good! I used an extra cup of rice as others did and subbed cream of mushroom for the soup. This does make the cooled casserole quite stiff, if you want it looser, add more milk accordingly. We didn't mind the thicker texture. Fabulous simple recipe-- and 10x better than the "frozen dinner" variety at the market. My 9 year old had THREE helpings ;) Thanks misfit for this keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane R February 13, 2006

This was very good. I used about 2 cups of rice and a head of fresh broccoli that I steamed first. Will make again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough September 20, 2012

Add some diced ham for a complete meal, with a salad.
Use real cheddar cheese! & Mushroom soup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hag chef June 05, 2012

This was delicious!! It reminds me of the one my mother used to make when i was kid. PLus my 2 year old loved it and what a great way for her to get in some vegetables!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelley13 January 19, 2012

Completely amazing! I was looking for a copycat of the Broccoli Cheese cassarole they serve at Cheddar's restaurants and couldn't find one that was listed as such, but this is pretty close to the mark! Super cheesy and creamy and good. I subbed cheddar cheese soup for the cream of chicken and topped it with some crushed Cheez Its. Yum and yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs August 06, 2011

I made this for our supper tonight to go along with our chicken. I used some leftover rice I had in the fridge and had to sub cheddar cheese for the velveeta(didn't know I was out). Even with the subs it was good. I will use this recipe again, as its a great way to incorporate leftover rice into something different and tasty the next night. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 09, 2011
Rice, Broccoli, & Cheese Casserole