9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this recipe. I had to adjust it some due to not having all the ingredients called for. I did not have chicken broth/stock so I used bouillon. Only had the boil in bag rice. I did have all the veggies including home made chipotle. I put the bouillon in the water with the bagged rice and microwaved 8 minutes and sauted the veggies while the rice was cooking. I emptied the rice into the skillet and just guessed at the amount of liquid to add back in, maybe a cup and a half. Simmered the water down and it was ready.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marym758 August 28, 2012

Made for Farmer's Market Tag 2009. This is an excellent side dish and paired well with The Perfect Steak. I only made half of the recipe and it was plenty for the three of us. I loved the sweet taste of the corn with the spicy heat of the chipotles. Thanks for posting this Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft August 03, 2009

Oh yeah loved the spicy kick of this dish. We made this tonited with Paulista Churrasco and they complimented each other very well. I really didnt adjust anything in this recipe and dont think I will when I make it again. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy in da South July 10, 2008

An easy mutritious dish. I substituted quinoa for rice. I also used boiled corn kernels, but they still had a nice crunch to add interest to the dish. The chipotle add an subtle smoky flavor to the more upfront peppers and onions. I used just water, and milk instead of cream, but I think I would even use all water next time to get a distinct grainy texture, rather then creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady July 01, 2008

Very good. Boy, this makes a lot for 1 cup of rice! We really enjoyed this as a side to a chicken dish. I made as directed except that I added a little cilantro along with the green onions. Thanks Rita for another keeper. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 27, 2008

I served this tonight with a spicy pork tenderloin. We loved it, but it was just a little too spicy for my 7 yo and DH. My FIL had 3 helpings! I will definitely make this again but cut back on the chipotle. I agree with one of the other reviewers that this would be wonderful with black beans. Made and reviewed for ZWT4. Thanks for posting Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ June 16, 2008

Very good. I did add some black beans and it was a good addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ June 30, 2007

Great rice! We like spicy, so added extra chipotles, and also topped with just a sprinkle of Jack cheese. This beats the socks off of any packaged Mexican or Spanish rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 June 09, 2005

this was a basic good recipe, though it took me 30 minutes to cook. i can see adding zucchini, black beans, tomatoes- good summer dish and easy to prepare. i served this with chili.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia July 31, 2004
Rice, and Corn With Chipotle Peppers