28 Reviews

This is the easiest recipe and tastes the best. I cut out the chicken broth and didn't drain tomatoes. Then added water for the rest. I added chicken sausage with jalapena peppers. My husband raves about this recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherkomoo October 16, 2010

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this! We eat it quite often. I have also added cut up chicken breast, to make this a one pot meal. I love taking the leftovers for lunch, and it freezes well too!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Brad January 04, 2010

This recipe is awesome! It is so easy and filling. I didn't have the Ro-tel tomatoes, so I used a can of diced tomatoes and added a roasted red bell pepper (from a jar) and a small home-roasted Poblano pepper. My husband and I love garlic, so I will add minced garlic next time and maybe some cumin. The recipe is great as is, though! My husband had 3 helpings. Wow! (Tomorrow we will eat the leftovers in tortilla shells for lunch. Can't wait!!) P.S. The fuzziness in the picture I posted is steam. I had just removed the lid. Mmmm!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seventhwriter December 06, 2010

FANTASTIC!! Very easy and you can do so many different things to it...adapt it and make it your own! I used Goya Black Bean Soup and instead of chicken stock I used all liquid from the Black Bean soup, Corn and tomatoes/green chilis (equaled 14 ozs); added a cube of chicken bouillon, some red pepper flakes, paprika and cumin. MMMMmmm...can't wait to see what they say at work tomorrow!! This is a keeper!! Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell September 21, 2010

I loved this recipe and to me, it made much more than 4 servings, The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is my husband thought it was a bit bland but in the recipes defense my husband is a junkfood junky despite his tiny waistline (grrrr) I served it up in some flour tortillas along with some refried beans, a little bit of cheese, avocado and lime! Delicious!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmyarmyhubby214 June 24, 2010

This was awesome. I made 2 batches with brown rice. Can't wait to share with my vegetarian friend. Will substitute the Chicken broth for him.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smithmfe September 25, 2009

Very easy, quick & quite tasty. Served with Spicy Chicken & it was perfect. Thinking of adding chicken to the mix next time I make it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SB6 July 06, 2010

This was good, but I made a couple of modifications based on previous reviews. I did not drain the beans or tomatoes and just adjusted the amount of additional liquid I added accordingly. I think you loose a lot of the flavor of the Ro-Tel if you drain it. Otherwise, it was a great, inexpensive meal that I would definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FCR Gal January 14, 2012

A nice basic start. I thought this needed some additional flavor though so next time I might use some spicy salsa in place of the tomatoes. I'd also reduce the amount of liquid. This recipe seems like an awesome starting point for some quick and easy meals. Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie February 02, 2011

I recently came into possession of a rice cooker, and this was the first thing I tried. I had no idea how it worked, so I just poured and hoped! It came out perfect! I didn't have Rotel, so I used bottled salsa instead. I also forgot the cheese at the end, but added chopped cilantro to the plates. Great first exposure to the rice cooker!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne in apex January 22, 2011
Rice and Black Beans (Rice Cooker)