Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rice and Artichoke Hearts Baked Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rice and Artichoke Hearts Baked

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2002

      Nice dish, Kari! We really enjoyed this interesting and tasty dish. When I made it, I made it early in the day and kept it in the refrigerator until dinner time. It worked out well, and I always consider it a plus it you can make it ahead. The flavors were very good together. It will definately be used again. Thanks for posting such a tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      I knew we would love this dish and were not disappointed. The texture was nice and light, yet very flavorful from the cheese and seasonings. I know I'll be grabbing this recipe to make for company, since I can prepare it ahead of time, which is a real bonus. You gave us a winner Kari...thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      this was a wonderful dish, light and souffle-like, my daughters thought it was a quiche. i was able to cut it into 6 serving slices. i added about 6 chopped kalamata olives to the mix before baking just to give it some color, i think pimentos would work well too. this is a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      It sounded like a bright idea for a side dish on a night when I was short of fresh veggies. Unfortunately it was too bland for our taste. That was despite the fact that I added some vinaigrette, a sprinkle of Tabasco, black pepper and South African peppadews, which are piquant in flavour. It baked beautifully -- I used a glass pie plate which was maybe a little too large. It's just so disappointing that a really "different" recipe like this was (as the stars above say) good, but bland. I wonder ... maybe with some extras such as finely chopped onion and other seasonings it could be a good standby dish. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This was pretty tasty. I added some of my own flare to it. I added fresh spinach leaves, chopped garlic, and lemon juice to the rice mixture. I also cooked my jasmine rice in chicken stock and some herbs. The kids enjoyed this dish and so did I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

    • on February 10, 2008

      I think it's best to mix the salt and pepper into the egg/milk mix rather than to sprinkle the top with salt and pepper. It helps with the overall flavor of the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This was a very simple recipe. I used a box of uncle bens wild rice and spices and it tasted great. i used a whole can of quartered artichoke hearts and also double the cheese (but fat-free cheddar)Also makes easy leftovers. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I must have done something wrong, mine did not turn out creamy. I baked it exactly as the recipe called and followed all directions but it was just okay. I did add red peppers as suggested, I would have liked it, it was just too dry for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This made a really nice weekend breakfast. It could use a little something, but just as-is we really liked it. Next time we'll try adding a roasted red pepper or two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This recipe suited my taste for creamy-type foods. Husband thought it was too bland. Maybe I'll add some hot sauce or something else to give it a little more of a kick next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This turned out not at all like I was expecting for taste or texture, but a pleasant surprise. I was thinking it would be a rice side dish, but it's more like a quiche. The flavor from the artichokes' marinade spread throughout the dish in a way that I didn't expect, but it mixed nicely with the other flavors and the whole family enjoyed it. I would make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Excellent recipe. I did play around with the amounts quite a bit though. I double the rice and artichoke hearts (using plain canned), used 2 eggs and 1 cup skim milk. The cheese was a low-fat Mexican mix (was what I had in fridge). I also cooked my brown rice in vegetable broth. As a result it was less souffle/quiche, more just rice/veggie/cheese casserole that held together well. Either way, it turned out just great; my boyfriend really enjoyed it a lot too. I think the next time I make this I will add some dried herbs. Fantastic dish anyway, thanks. P.S. Made it for Valentine's day dinner; you know, artichoke "hearts." Silly me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Great recipe. I found this while looking for a recipe to use a bit of leftover Uncle Ben's rice and some artichoke hearts. (Bought the Costco jar!) This was terrific with Parmesan Crusted Broiled Scallops #16855 and some sauteed spinach. I did bake in a Pyrex pie plate and only cooked for 45 mins. My only alteration was the addition of some chopped roasted red pepper for color and a pretty design on top. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      This was good. It wasn't quite what I was expecting. I has hoping it would be more ricey and less eggy (are those words?). Mine stuck a little bit, too, even though I sprayed my pyrex dish with cooking spray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      My! This was good!!! It took just a little bit longer to firm up in the middle, but that might be because of the dish...it would work well in a pie plate, I think. My DS said I should double the artichokes next time (which he requested to be tomorrow!)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      This was a delight. We pretty much ate the whole thing at dinner. Just the two of us, great for a hot summer nite. I just mixed it all up together and layed some sliced tomatoes on top. It was tops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      Very good. Had guests over for brunch and this seemed to hit the spot for everyone (including my pregnant sister-in-law). Used a combination of brown and wild rice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rice and Artichoke Hearts Baked

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.6
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    52%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 219.9 mg
    73%
    Sodium 274.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites