19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice dish, Kari! We really enjoyed this interesting and tasty dish. When I made it, I made it early in the day and kept it in the refrigerator until dinner time. It worked out well, and I always consider it a plus it you can make it ahead. The flavors were very good together. It will definately be used again. Thanks for posting such a tasty dish.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie November 21, 2002

I knew we would love this dish and were not disappointed. The texture was nice and light, yet very flavorful from the cheese and seasonings. I know I'll be grabbing this recipe to make for company, since I can prepare it ahead of time, which is a real bonus. You gave us a winner Kari...thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema September 01, 2003

this was a wonderful dish, light and souffle-like, my daughters thought it was a quiche. i was able to cut it into 6 serving slices. i added about 6 chopped kalamata olives to the mix before baking just to give it some color, i think pimentos would work well too. this is a keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia June 21, 2003

Yum! This is a promising dish; mine was not big on flavor, but admittedly I used lame pre-shredded cheddar cheese. With chipotle hot sauce, it was delicious. I will make again with more seasonings. I used a whole 6 oz. jar of artichokes, and it worked well, in spite of the fact that I'm not a big artichoke fan. This is a similar to a quiche, but the rice adds a better texture, in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn January 06, 2015

It sounded like a bright idea for a side dish on a night when I was short of fresh veggies. Unfortunately it was too bland for our taste. That was despite the fact that I added some vinaigrette, a sprinkle of Tabasco, black pepper and South African peppadews, which are piquant in flavour. It baked beautifully -- I used a glass pie plate which was maybe a little too large. It's just so disappointing that a really "different" recipe like this was (as the stars above say) good, but bland. I wonder ... maybe with some extras such as finely chopped onion and other seasonings it could be a good standby dish. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie March 06, 2013

This was pretty tasty. I added some of my own flare to it. I added fresh spinach leaves, chopped garlic, and lemon juice to the rice mixture. I also cooked my jasmine rice in chicken stock and some herbs. The kids enjoyed this dish and so did I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebeboy03 May 03, 2010

I think it's best to mix the salt and pepper into the egg/milk mix rather than to sprinkle the top with salt and pepper. It helps with the overall flavor of the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan from Chicago February 10, 2008

This was a very simple recipe. I used a box of uncle bens wild rice and spices and it tasted great. i used a whole can of quartered artichoke hearts and also double the cheese (but fat-free cheddar)Also makes easy leftovers. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaTigress January 15, 2008

I must have done something wrong, mine did not turn out creamy. I baked it exactly as the recipe called and followed all directions but it was just okay. I did add red peppers as suggested, I would have liked it, it was just too dry for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu December 20, 2007
Rice and Artichoke Hearts Baked