Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rib-Eye Steaks That are Superb Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rib-Eye Steaks That are Superb

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2011

      I can't believe I actualy cooked steak! My hubby told me not to try to cook them, he would put them on the grill. But he laid down to take a nap, and I did them. They turned out just perfect. He said they were, and he is picky. LOL When he woke up he thought the house was on fire, it was so smokey. He also thought it was morning, he had slept so hard. thought I had cooked steak for breakfast. The steaks were great. I will be doing them all from now on. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I loved this recipe and found that the beef was juicy and didnt taste salty at all. i used a cast iron grill pan, which meant that the steak wasnt the salt all over, yet the salt didnt melt but acted like mini lava rocks. I used rather large coarse sea salt. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Wonderful! I made my steak exactly as directed with lots of pepper, granulated garlic, and kosher salt. I rarely salt anything, but this was truly fantastic. I didn't brush any of the seasoning off and it was perfect - seared on the outside and juicy on the inside. Thanks Uncle Bill for a great keeper. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Superb. I am sorry about some bad reviews this recipe got. The steak was tender and full of flavour. It didnt taste too salty at all. The grill HAS to be smoking hot and so does the salt, that way the grill pan or skillet will dry up any liquid coming out of the steak preventing the salt from dissolving completely and ending up coating the meat. When I finished cooking my steak there was still most of the salt on the bottom of the pan. I hope this helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      My grandmother use to make steaks this way and I had forgotten about doing it this way until last night. As far as I'm concerned, this is the only way to do a rib eye. The steak was so full of flavor and so juicy. Make sure to open the doors and turn on the fans because it will fill the house with smoke, but oh so worth it. (My hood fan needed to be cleaned anyway!) My grandmother wasn't a great cook but she sure knew how to cook a steak! Thanks for posting this recipe, the memories and the great dinner! SECOND TIME: This time I fired up the gas bbq and placed my cast iron skillet on the grill. When the pan was hot, I sprinkled the salt on, waited a minute and threw the steaks on. All I can say is WOW WOW WOW!!! Cut into that steak and just rolled my eyes in delight. YES! It won't matter if it's pouring rain out the next time we want steak. We'll just fire up that bbq! Thank you again, Uncle Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I absolutely loved the flavor and ease of this method, but my husband has forbidden me from using it ever again in the house because we set off all the fire alarms both times I made it!! The house gets incredibly smoky, but boy do the steaks taste good! We'll make this again once we get a house with a yard where we can use a grill outdoors. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      I suppose, somewhere in the shady, forgotten past, I "may" have had a better steak, but then, I'm not sure I believe in reincarnation. One of the best tasting "things", period, I ever put into my mouth. So good, you know instinctively it has to be a little bit bad for you, and yet not care one whit. Gonna make it again, today, thanks to the chef for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Outstanding Steak Recipe! Used McCormick's Montreal Steak liberally instead of granulated garlic and pepper. Should have lightened up on it because of the high salt content. Still it was the best indoor steak I have ever had. So good I would consider it instead of grilling on charcoal if time or weather needed it. Restaurant quality. We have very finicky smoke alarms and they only went off once toward the very end of cooking. Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      I love the method! I followed the directions and after letting the steaks rest, it was too rare. I needed to throw the steaks back onto the heat for another 4 minutes or so. (Note - we do like our steaks medium rare. Ours came out rare rare with this timing.) I'm not sure why the timing didn't work for us, since it seems to have worked perfectly for others. That said, we loved the salt technique, cooking in an iron skillet and the pepper/garlic combo. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Great! Because of the smoke reviews I put my cast iron skillet on the grill. For those of you who think the steak is too salty how about only putting the salt down after the first side is cooked? Just take the steaks off after the first side is done and then add the salt before flipping them. I can't wait to try this other steaks, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      Simple perfection. So easy, anyone can do it and produces a juicy, tender, very flavorful steak. Does smoke up the kitchen, but you won't care once you have a taste. Thanks Uncle Bill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Amazing. I stopped attempting a pan fried steak years ago when I could never get the timing correct and the meat would stick to the pan. I've been using the broiler ever since. I really was nervous about trying this method but it turned out amazing. Last minute I purchased ball tip steak instead of the rib eye because of a really great sale. I cut the steaks in half and used this method cooking the steaks for 4 1/2 minutes per side. They were perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I can make steak!! I have NEVER been able to make steak before. (it's usually dry, flavorless)This was great. A little too salty, but the texture/consistency was PERFECTO. Need to figure out the salty-ness. I used coarse sea salt...and less than was called for, but next time I will use less and then try harder to brush it off. GREAT STEAK!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was delicious! My husband always cooks the steak and I wanted to make him steak for fathers day... even though I usually mess them up! I used NY strips and cooked them 2 minutes on each side, and they turned out med-med rare... Perfect! and they were still juicy and delicious.. It made his day and I will definately be using this recipe for now on! Thank you for such a great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Is there any other way to cook steaks? Not in our book! Great recipe we use often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Absolutly simple and perfect! 10 stars in our opinion!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Superb is an understatement! This is now my staple recipe for preparing rib-eye steaks. The flavor is incredible. Make sure you have an open window or fan due to the smoke factor. Terrific recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Superb is right! These were so good. But, like others said, be prepared for a very smokey house! I am wondering if those who say this is too salty are using the whole Tablespoon of salt at once instead of 3/4 tsp per steak? I never use much salt on anything and I thought this was just perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I have to agree with "kitty", I am sorry for the bad reviews you got on this, Uncle Bill! I am not known as a skilled chef, and your recipe and directions were excellent! I NEVER put salt on my meat after it's cooked, because I don't care much for salty food, and I did not find it too salty. I followed directions exactly, using ultra thick steaks from Costco (their meat can be pretty good!) and they were absolutely fantastic! I think I will try the cast iron skillet on the grill when the weather is nicer! Thanks, again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      This recipe made for an amazing steak. I used a thick beef tenderloin cut instead of rib-eye (about 1.25" thick). I did not have an iron skillet so I settled with a standard pan. Cooking time was almost right on despite the additional thickness; I took an extra minute each side to reach medium rare. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rib-Eye Steaks That are Superb

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 626.8
     
    Calories from Fat 451
    72%
    Total Fat 50.2 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 20.4 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 154.5 mg
    51%
    Sodium 2743.7 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 39.9 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes