19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am so sorry, but no one in my household or the guests tonight liked this. I followed the recipe, and cooked on a charcoal grill, but this just had an "off" taste. The steaks did not seem to be anymore tender because of the long marinating time. This is one of the first times my family and guests have returned their plates with practically all their meat left on it. No one complimented the recipe, and no one asked for the recipe. I am so sorry....I don't usually give a bad rating, because I know how I would feel if I got one. Maybe it was my steaks, or maybe the seasoning just didn't agree with us. But I can't honestly give this recipe a higher rating. So Sorry. Made for Football Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 30, 2008

This makes an excellent steak! I marinated them for almost 5 hours. I loved the unique flavor. My ribeyes were sliced pretty thin, so I didn't have to grill them quite as long. Thanx for posting. I'll be using this recipe for future steaks this summer and probably other meats as well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* May 27, 2008

None of us liked this marinade at all. The lime juice turned the steaks an unattractive gray color. It had an odd sweet/sour taste and was very bland. All in all, I was very disappointed. :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP July 15, 2007

Per the carnivores, this was delicious! I marinated for about 6 hours and used Uncle Bill's Rib-Eye Steaks That are Superb to cook stovetop. (Grill didn't survive the recent move). Can't wait to try this marinade on portabellos! Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta January 09, 2007

We marinated rib eye steaks in this for about four hours before grilling. We used a pale ale instead of bock. Rib eye steaks don't need marinating to make them tender, so this was more about getting some flavor from the marinade. They tasted great - thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ranch-girl June 20, 2010

This was a good marinade. It definately improved the rib steak that we typically have that are tough. I only marinated for about 6 maybe 7 hours. I will try this again on a different cut of meat. I'm sure it will even be better. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv August 22, 2008

I made this last night for my husband and myself. I didn't marinade it as long as stated, only 2-3 hours, but followed the rest of the recipe(including type of beer) as stated. I marinated a ribeye and a new york strip. I love a good marbled ribeye because it is so flavorful, but the marinade totally over powered the steak and I only tasted the marinade. This might be good for a cheaper or tougher piece of steak or maybe because I did not marinade it as long as directed, affected the taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 12, 2007

Very good....marinated steaks overnight then broiled them inside the oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn February 26, 2007
Rib Eye Steak in Bock Beer Marinade