8 Reviews

This cake is excellent! Be sure to spray the 13x9 pan with vegetable spray first. I turned it over right after taking it out of the oven on to a cookie sheet. Everyone in my family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emil T July 13, 2003

This cake was delicious and very easy to make. It seems that it would be overly sweet, but with the tart rhubarb it was just right. I served it for Mother's Day dinner and the family said it was definitely "a keeper." Whipped cream on top made a good addition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DF McLean May 13, 2002

Dear Inez.....up here in the Northcountry where Spring is coming all too slowly, I decided to try your cake for a service club public fish-fry. It was really an "upper"! I used rhubarb from the freezer which worked fine. Although I'm not a fan of either marshmallows or jello, this cake is a real winner and I expect to make it again soon for the same sort of event.......I know it will go fast. At home, a dollop of whipped cream would be nice. Thank you for sharing. Margo

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Schneider May 04, 2002

Amazing! I needed to use up some frozen apricots and spotted your recipe. You guessed it! I used some orange jello and less sugar and it was Awesome! Thankyou. I will have to try it with the rhubarb (which we love) next. LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen L. October 29, 2013

This is a great recipe, that I had mis-laid, but plan on making again as soon as I get some rhubarb and marshmallows! It is definitely NOT for the diabetic in the family, but I have made it using Splenda and sugar-free jello, with absolutely no change in the flavor... must be from the sugar in the marshmallows and "regular" cake mix! Either way, even Rhubarb-haters will love this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panakanic July 16, 2008

This was great! For frosting, I used a box of french vanilla jello pudding w/1 cup milk and 1 tup of cool whip! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie Corrine June 20, 2007

Thanks Mizznezz for posting this awesome recipe. My wife asked me to find a simple rhubarb cake recipe on Recipe Zaar for her. This is it, a rhubarb cake for those who don't know they like rhubarb. Easy to make, light and moist in texture with the rhubarb blending with the rasberry jello and marshmellows to give it a scrumptous taste. You would never guess marshmellows are in it. The recipe says bake for one hour and it means one hour. The cake was perfectly baked in one hour in our electric oven. My wife has baked it twice and served it with Cool Whip and has received only rave reviews from everyone including me. This week she took it to the middle school where she teaches to serve to fellow teachers. They all loved it and several took the recipe. Thanks again. This deserves more than five stars. Simple to make and oh sooooooo good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldlangford May 26, 2005

This is a delicious recipe. I used 1 cup of sugar and strawberry jello mix instead. I topped it with Lite Cool Whip and everyone who tasted it loved it. I will definitely make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 May 23, 2004
Rhubarb Upside Down Cake