30 Reviews

It's upside-down cake in muffin cups. Could've used more rhubarb and less "cake". I used skim milk in the cake portion, maybe that's why it wasn't so tasty. I'm not a white cake lover. I'll try some of the variations other 'bakers' have suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doedekay May 24, 2011

Delicious, warm out of the oven and made with fresh picked rhubarb. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the crumb mixture and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the cake. I would not call them buns-much closer to a coffee cake texture. I will definitely make them again-a hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
contactmel May 13, 2011

Made these last night with the first crop of rhubarb from the garden -- pretty good all around! I found the buns/cake part was a bit dry/crumbly for my taste and I guess I didn't grease the muffin tin enough (though I really went crazy with the butter) b/c some of the brown-sugar rhubarb mixture stayed in the muffin cup. I just scooped it out and reapplied. Overall flavor was nice--not too too sweet. They were great reheated for breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristine at Food.com May 12, 2011

YUM! This treat is kinda like an updside down rhubarb coffee cake. Individual sized cake-lets mean you will eat more than one! Recipe was easy to follow. Our only substitution was half and half for the cream. The rhubarb topping is perfect. The "sticky bun" is more like a coffee cake in consistency and flavor. BUT IT IS DELICIOUS! :) Fresh rhubarb works great. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen May 11, 2011

These are excellent! It is our 3rd anniversary today & I made them as a surprise for my DH. The 1st 2 were devoured right away & a little messy coming out of the muffin cups, but that was a snap w/the rest after fully cooled. Thx for posting this winner & instant favourite for us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 30, 2006

I just had one of these warm out of the oven with my coffee. They are to die for! My husband suggested that they can also be served for dessert with a little vanilla ice cream on the side. Thanks for sharing this gem!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard July 10, 2006

I am not rating this recipe with stars, as I did make a few changes after reading through all the reviews. I had used dark brown sugar in the rhubarb mixture, which I don't recommend. The dark sugar didn't make the sticky buns look eye appealing after being baked. I wished I had used light brown sugar instead. Also, most of the rhubarb mixture (on each bun) stuck to the inside of the muffin tins, and I did thoroughly grease each and every one of them. Someone stated they had a problem using only a 1/2 cup of cream in the batter. They stated it made the batter too clumpy or too thick. To remedy that problem, I did add 2 more tablespoons of cream, which gave the buns more of a cake-like texture after they were baked. Some people stated the batter/buns tasted bland, so I took others suggestions and added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and a 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, which gave the buns a cake-spice taste to them. While my husband liked the sticky buns, I on the other hand, thought they were just ok! I think the recipe could use a bit more rhubarb, as you couldn't really taste it, and seeing how most of the rhubarb topping had stuck to the inside of the muffin tins and not on the buns, I was a bit disappointed how they turned out. Not sure if I'll be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess June 16, 2016

I have been making this scrumptious dessert for quite a few years. Very,very easy and quickly done. I make sure I have plenty of rhubarb in my freezer. Delicious hot from the oven or reheated the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chavig April 07, 2016

These are really good. Tart and sweet and yummy. Just make sure that you take them out of the pan soon after you get them out of the oven, or they get stuck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. June 24, 2014

Am waiting to see how these turn out. Did no one have problems only using one half cup of cream? It was too clumpy even to use the mixer on with just a half a cup. I had to put in another fourth to half. Then the batter was still thick enough that I had to try to push the batter down with my finger. Can't believe no one commented on that. I followed the recipe exactly. Later...they are very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanbeeler_12551246 May 21, 2014
Rhubarb Sticky Buns