Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Sticky Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Sticky Buns

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2011

      Really enjoyed this recipe. It's quick, easy and very good. The cake has excellent texture and the rhubarb is balanced perfectly by the brown sugar/sugar. I substituted greek yogurt/milk mixture for the heavy cream. I cut an extra 1/2 cup of rhubarb, so I added it in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      Since we have TONS of rhubarb in our garden, I was happy to find this easy, delicious recipe! I increased the rhubarb to 1 1/2 cups & chopped it into fairly small pieces. The bottom (top???) didn't become real sticky because (a) I baked them in my silpat muffin pan OR (b) because I didn't put them into the oven until an hour after assembling. Some of the rhubarb stayed in the bottom with some of the juices - that was OK as I ate it with a spoon - LOL. When I make these again (and I definitely will), I'll time things better so I can still serve them warm ........... I'll also add some cinnamon to the batter. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      These sticky buns are really good. I did change a few things. I used rhubarb AND strawberries and mixed them together with the brown sugar. I didn't use the butter in the crumble - didn't need it. I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp orange zest, and 1/4 cup orange juice to the batter. Orange goes amazingly well with rhubarb and strawberries. I also used plain Greek yogurt instead of cream. These sticky buns turned out EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      These buns cooked up well and had a nice texture, but I found that they didn't have as much flavour as I was expecting. The topping (bottom?) wasn't sticky at all and the batter part was very bland. I don't think I'll make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      These are excellent. Very easy to make. I used very thin stalks of rhubarb I used a heaping cupful chopped 1/2 inch thick. I found the rhubarb mixture just the right sweetness for us. The batter baked up to a nice crumb texture. I used heavy cream. Mine baked in 18 minutes. Next time I will put a pan under the muffin pan to catch any overflow( just one did). Thanks for sharing this recipe, one I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      This recipe is fantastic - my family hasn't stopped talking about it! I added half a cup of strawberries to the topping, used cinnamon instead of nutmeg & skim milk instead of cream. These were fantastic warm, nice and gooey, but also great chilled on a hot day. I will be making these again, for a long time to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Yummy! I didn't have cream on hand, so I used 1% mulk instead with excellent result. I might consider using a bit more rhubarb next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      Really good! We are eating them as dessert with ice cream. They were great straight out of the oven and still good a couple days later. I am looking forward to trying with other kinds of fruit later in summer (raspberries, apples). Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Great recipe! Next time I will double the rhubarb to help counteract the sweetness (we rarely eat anything sweet). Thanks for sharing. Will keep this one for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Wow. Amazing. Loved flavour the nutmeg lent. One of the best desserts I've made in awhile.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      It's upside-down cake in muffin cups. Could've used more rhubarb and less "cake". I used skim milk in the cake portion, maybe that's why it wasn't so tasty. I'm not a white cake lover. I'll try some of the variations other 'bakers' have suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Delicious, warm out of the oven and made with fresh picked rhubarb. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the crumb mixture and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the cake. I would not call them buns-much closer to a coffee cake texture. I will definitely make them again-a hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Made these last night with the first crop of rhubarb from the garden -- pretty good all around! I found the buns/cake part was a bit dry/crumbly for my taste and I guess I didn't grease the muffin tin enough (though I really went crazy with the butter) b/c some of the brown-sugar rhubarb mixture stayed in the muffin cup. I just scooped it out and reapplied. Overall flavor was nice--not too too sweet. They were great reheated for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      YUM! This treat is kinda like an updside down rhubarb coffee cake. Individual sized cake-lets mean you will eat more than one! Recipe was easy to follow. Our only substitution was half and half for the cream. The rhubarb topping is perfect. The "sticky bun" is more like a coffee cake in consistency and flavor. BUT IT IS DELICIOUS! :) Fresh rhubarb works great. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      These are excellent! It is our 3rd anniversary today & I made them as a surprise for my DH. The 1st 2 were devoured right away & a little messy coming out of the muffin cups, but that was a snap w/the rest after fully cooled. Thx for posting this winner & instant favourite for us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      I just had one of these warm out of the oven with my coffee. They are to die for! My husband suggested that they can also be served for dessert with a little vanilla ice cream on the side. Thanks for sharing this gem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2014

      These are really good. Tart and sweet and yummy. Just make sure that you take them out of the pan soon after you get them out of the oven, or they get stuck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      Am waiting to see how these turn out. Did no one have problems only using one half cup of cream? It was too clumpy even to use the mixer on with just a half a cup. I had to put in another fourth to half. Then the batter was still thick enough that I had to try to push the batter down with my finger. Can't believe no one commented on that. I followed the recipe exactly. Later...they are very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      very, very delicious! not too sweet. the PERFECT breakfast food :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      These are amazing.....unhealthy, but amazing! I tried only one dozen to test, but am now going back and making 2 doz. more. Used the yoghurt as someone suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Sticky Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.8
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    47%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 50.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 248.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.4 g
    69%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites