Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Squares

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2010

      I LOVED THESE! They taste like pie; but, don't require all the work. They slice up perfectly, no leaky mess left behind. I have forwarded this recipe on to many of my friends. These are FANTASTIC! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I adore rhubarb and this recipe did not let me down. Just like a lemon bar crust and a wonderful rhubarb custard topping. I really don't think I would change a thing but I might try cutting back just a bit on the sugar and see if a little more "tart" doesn't come through from the rhubarb. These will go into rhubarb rotation when the plants are growing like crazy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I use this recipe all the time. Like the previous reviewer said, if I could give it 10 stars I would. These squares are TO DIE for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      If I could give this ten stars, I would!! What a perfect combination of flavors and textures! The buttery crunch of the shortbread crust and the tart smoothness of the of rhubarb custard are just wonderful! I used 3/4 cup of sugar in the filling, just because I don't like things too sweet and baked it for a bit longer than suggested, but I think that is just my oven. Thanks Kevin for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      I made these bars the other day, but I added 3 tablespoons of strawberry gelatin powder to the rhubarb filling, and I baked the bars in an 8x8-inch Teflon pan for 45 minutes. After 2 days I had noticed the rhubarb filling had taken on the flavor of the strawberry gelatin just a bit. I would of given these bars 5 stars if the filling had thicken up. Other than that, my husband and I enjoyed them. Thanx for the recipe Kevin!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I adapted this recipe to suit my tastes, see "Dreamy Strawberry Rhubarb Squares." Even with some of the ingredients changed it was absolutely delicious. I made this when we were entertaining people and they were all gone within the hour. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I made this tonight for dessert. We loved it (well all except my 4 yr old). I doubled the batch because I had about 6 cups of rhubarb to use. I was afraid that the top layer was not going to set up since I used frozen rhubarb and it was pretty wet, but it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This is so yummy! The tartness of the rhubarb balances really well with the lightly-sweet crust. I used half whole wheat/half white flour in the crust. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      excellent- brought these to a bbq and they were a hit! easy to make and a nice switch from lemon squares (and a chance for me to use some of my abundant rhubarb supply) people raved about them said they were good because they were not too sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      YUM! These were easy to make and easier to eat. It tastes like my mom's rhubarb pie but instead it's in an easy to eat bar form. What a great summery treat! Thanks so much, Kevin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This is a lovely recipe and it made the house smell wonderful! I followed another person's suggestion and put brown sugar instead of white for the crust and through in some cinnamon in the dry ingredients because we really like it. After it baked, I also mixed a little bit of icing sugar and fresh lemon that I drizzled on the top. I will be making this a lot. It is not a heavy dessert and it was so nice having something to do with all the new rhubarb growing in my garden. Delicious! So glad you posted Kevin. Thanks, Bet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Very good. The only thing I would do differently is double the recipe. Even my DH, who doesn't particularly care for rhubarb, liked it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      I found this recipe elsewhere on the web a few years ago and have made it every spring and summer when my parents' rhubarb is ready for harvest. Everyone who tries them loves them, even the "I don't like rhubarb" types!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was excellent. Not overly sweet. Reminded me of the rhubarb custard pies my mom made when I was growing up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Mmmm, so delicious. I used powdered egg replacer and vegan butter substitute to make them vegan and they turned out beautifully. Next time I'll mix blueberries in, for color and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      This is the best rhubarb recipe I have ever made. And after counting in my grandmother's awesome rhubarb out back....I have gotten compliments galore and many recipe requests after serving this recipe to rhubarb veterans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Very good! They are also very easy to make. These are a staple in our family durning rhubarb season. I added some strawberries as well for interest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      This was really a good recipe for rhubarb and also easy to make -- always a plus! I replaced half of the 1 cup of sugar with Splenda and I don't think it changed the flavor or texture at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      Definitely a keeper recipe. Great change from the standard Rhubarb Coffee cake recipe. I made no changes to the recipe and it turned out fantastic. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      fantastic. Were a hit with everyone

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (942 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    28%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 33.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 43.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 15.2 g
    61%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites