Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Squares

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2002

      This was pretty good, but I think next time I'll add some brown sugar or something, to "kick up" the crust portion a little. The "filling" was excellent with a little lemon zest added in. I just think the crust is a little tasteless. A few alterations, and this could make a great, tasty, low-fat new way of enjoying the taste of rhubarb deserts, without a ton of fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      This was so easy to make, and a hit with the taste buds too! It makes a nice change from Rhubarb crumble or pie. It's going to become a family favourite. Best served warm with extra thick double cream!! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2002

      Soooo good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      I was very pleased to find this recipe as I have made it many times in the past...then lost it!! Thanks Kevin for putting this one online!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      Family favorite! It's just as good as a rhubarb pie, but so much easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      These were wonderful!!! For a healthier option I substituted the 1 cup of sugar for 1 cup of vanilla Greek yogurt and 1/3 tsp. of Steviea. I do not bake and this was VERY easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I let the crust bake a few more minutes because to me it seem not baked enough. I used frozen rhubarbs. The taste is so good. Thanks Kevin :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Yummy! Sometimes in rhubarb desserts the rhubarb gets kind of lost, but not this one! If I wanted a strawberry dessert or a cake I'd make one, but I want rhubarb and this gives it to me right up front. <br/><br/>The only change I might make next time is a tiny pinch of nutmeg. My grandmother's rhubarb custard pie, which has about a million more calories than this, always had a bit of nutmeg. Otherwise followed the instructions exactly. Except for the pan. I used a quarter sheet pan because I have no idea what kind of pan is 11x7x2. It worked fine, though I did bake it a bit less since the filling was a little more spread out and therefore thinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      Super easy to make and they are really delicious!! I will definitely be making these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      It was ok ... average. With just flour, sugar & butter in the crust - there's not much flavor to the crust. (Kind of turns into a flour/sugar mush after a while) If I made it again, I'd use less sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Absolutely divine! The perfect balance of tart and sweet! So easy it practically makes itself! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      I love rhubarb and try all kinds of recipes for using it...and Kevin this it the tops ..It was made for a get together and the man next door made such a fuss on how good it was I gave him the recipe cause he wanted me to make him one the next day...he does not bake pies but he will make this cause it is so easy....Thanks Kevin for sharing...and Bruce says THANKS too....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Yummy. So easy to make. I didn't have the right size pan,so I adjusted the recipe to fit my pan. It was a hit at the neighborhood party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      We loved this! It has the perfect sweet/tart mix and the texture of the crust is light with a bit of crunch. I was tempted to add some cinnamon, but didn't. This would also be tasty with a few strawberries diced into the fruit topping. Very simple and quick to put together. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Simple. I like that. Took it to work and was gone in a flash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Good but rather blend despite addition of cinnamon and nutmeg. Also needed more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Delicious! I did cut down on the sugar and used honey instead. The squares were still sweet enough for my family and I (we like the tartness of fresh rhubarb). We could hardly stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Yum! I used whole wheat flour and raw sugar and these turned out delicious. It's a tad too sweet for my taste, but not bad. I think next time I'll just use extra rhubarb for more tartness and to combat the extra sweetness. I'll definitely be making these again, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Loved it! Great recipe the only thing I added was a dash (or 3) or cinnamon in the crust mix. And used Splenda instead of sugar! Turned out great! The WHOLE family loved it and we all have a variety of tastes we all devoured it...Cannot wait to share this recipe with family and friends!! Oh and next time of course will make a double batch for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I used frozen rhubarb for these squares and they didn't set as good as they might have, had I used fresh rhubarb. The crust was perfect and just the right amount of tartness to the filling. Both hubby & I really enjoyed them. Will definitely make them again but as mentioned, next time will use fresh rhubarb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (942 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    28%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 33.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 43.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 15.2 g
    61%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites